Recipe: Sock It To Me Cake

After the weekend drama of replacing the hot water heater (photos to come), I decided to reward my hubster with a treat.  (That kind of sounds like he’s a pet, doesn’t it.)  🙂   Well – he deserves a treat and today I made one of his favorite cakes.  Sock It To Me Cake!   No, I didn’t dress like Goldie Hawn bikini girl from ‘Laugh In’ and write the recipe on my body, although – there’s an idea.   NOT!  This is one of the recipes from the spiral bound notebook that Mimi (aka my mother) hand-wrote for me back in 1981. 

Doesnt she have lovely penmanship!
Doesn't she have lovely penmanship!

Without this book and the other ‘family recipe Bible’,  I’d be lost.  Wandering around in my kitchen, no direction, no purpose, and without the ability to boil an egg correctly without my ‘books’.  You see, I’m a computer geek, not a culinary master.  I learn by examples, methods, processes that make logical sense and do not have complicated ingredients and do not require more than two hours prep, cook, serve time.  I have a short attention span and an A-type personality.  Please forgive me.  Let’s move on to the recipe.

Sock It To Me Cake Ingredients
Sock It To Me Cake Ingredients

You’ll need:  1 yellow cake mix, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, 8 oz. sour cream, 1/2 cup white sugar, 4 eggs, 4 Tablespoons brown sugar, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and 1/2 cup chopped pecans.    That’s it!  Eight ingredients – and it doesn’t require any algebra or trigonometry, which is good because I suck at new math.

Mix together the cake mix, oil, sour cream and white sugar.  Then, add the eggs (one at a time), mixing after each one.  Grease a bundt pan.  Mix together the brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecans.  Pour a layer of cake mix and a layer of the brown sugar mixture alternately.  Like this!

Be careful to not let brown sugar touch the side of the pan on the top when finishing the top layer.  It will burn.   

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  Cool in pan on wire rack for 10 min.  Remove from pan to rack to finish cooling.

Sock It To Me Cake on Nanaws antique Fiesta Platter.
Sock It To Me Cake on Nanaw's antique Fiesta Platter.

Y’all Enjoy!

Here’s the recipe:

1 pkg. yellow cake mix
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 pint (8 oz.) sour cream
1/2 cup white, granulated sugar
4 eggs
4 Tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix cake mix, oil, sour crea, white sugar.  Add eggs one at at time and beat well.  Meanwhile, mix brown sugar, cinnamon, and nuts together.  Grease and flour a bundt pan or tube pan and pour a layer of cake mixture and a layer of brown sugar mixture alternately.  Do not let brown sugar touch sides of pan on the top.  Bake at 350 degrees for one hour.  Cool in pan 10 minutes.  Remove to rack to finish cooling.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. My mother made this cake! Delicious–like a coffee cake!

  2. Jan says:

    Weird coincidence. I made something very similar this afternoon. It was called “Better than Sex” cake. Same cake mix, sour, cream, and eggs. Also, had vanilla pudding mix, 3/4 cup mini choc. cips, and an entire bar of German’s chocolate, rated up. Moist and delicious. But not better than.

  3. caroldee says:

    The smell when this is baking is incredible. The whole house just sends you to another planet. YUMMY.. My Gramma added more white sugar than you were supposed to because she had a sweet tooth. The whole thing is so rich.. but makes a spectacular dessert for guests. YES I agree with Mental Mama
    it is mostly like a coffee cake. There is never much of it left around here for long. Great cake!! : )

  4. starwoodgal says:

    I have that recipe too! I need to make that and post the recipe (with pictures). 🙂

  5. Donna in VA says:

    Oh! How pretty!!

    I think we were born of the same cloth. I, too, am a computer geek who likes to cook, but not the fancy-takes-a-million-hours-to-cook kind of cooking. Easy and basic and TASTY!
    I’m going to try this one!

Leave a comment