Recipe: Oatmeal Cake

This is my son-in-law’s favorite cake. He LOVES it! He requests it for his birthday every year and I’m happy to make it or let my daughter make it from our family recipe book. A.K.A. The Family Cook Book/Bible.

Mimi’s Oatmeal Cake

1 1/4 cups boiling water
1 cup Oatmeal
Mix and let stand for 20 minutes.

2 sticks margarine
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar (packed)
2 eggs
Mix with oatmeal and water after the 20 minutes are up.

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Sift together and then add to the above mixture.

Mix well and place in a greased and floured 9 X 15 pan. Bake at 350 degrees about 45 minutes.

Topping:
1/4 cup margarine
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup Angel Flake coconut

Mix and pour on top of cake. Run under broiler until bubbly being careful not to burn. Cool in pan. Cut in squares to serve.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joyce says:

    Sounds wonderful. I will be trying this one for sure.

  2. I just made this cake last week! It was one of my mother’s favorites and also my ex husband’s! I made it for his birthday! Because I’m nice like that;)

  3. You’re making me gain weight just looking at the recipes for all this great food. I hope someone’s birthday is soon so I’ll have an excuse to bake a cake (and eat it). Stop!! Please! O.k. so don’t stop, but if I’m missing from blogosphere……look at HBL as the culprit. He says if I don’t stop licking the pc screen he’s going to ban me from your blog. grrr……

  4. Kath says:

    This is one of my dad’s favorite cakes!! With brown sugar frosting.

Leave a Reply

