Recipe: No-Bake Cookies (aka A Chocolate Addict’s Drug)

You know those days when you’re going through every cabinet in your house looking for a chocolate “fix”.  Well – I have it!  Chocolaty No-Bake Cookies – (swooning).  These thing are as addictive as George Clooney’s smile.  And, the great part…………..no fuss, no muss, one pan and simple ingredients.  So, the next time hormone hell has arrived, or you’re resisting the urge to PSM rant, whip up a batch of these cookies.  You won’t regret it.  I should also mention they never make it to the solidified stage when I make them because I grab a spoon, a cold glass of milk and eat them ooey-gooey and warm.  I highly recommend it!

No Bake Cookies

2 cups sugar
1/4 cup cocoa
1 stick margarine
1/2 cup milk

Mix in a saucepan and boil for one minute.  Stir constantly.

Add:  1/2 cup peanut butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 3 cups quick-cooking oatmeal

Mix well and drop by spoonful onto waxed paper.  Cool (on counter in winter or in the refrigerator).  (Chopped nuts or coconut may be added if desired).  I prefer them plain.

Y’all Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. dcamurray says:

    This is another of those recipes that I’d long forgotten from back in the day. I’ve been so busy trying to find NEW recipes that I forget the old “tried and true” recipes. This is one of them!

    Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Kath says:

    LOVE these!!! Thanks for reminding me of them……or maybe not!!!

    Being I love me some coconut I always add in a healthy amount of it too.

  3. Janet says:

    I love these cookies and have been making them since I was young. My recipe varies only slightly from yours, I use 3t of vanilla and I boil mine for 2 minutes instead of 1. I stated on my web page that I call them the unofficial cookie of Jackson County, you can’t go anywhere without seeing them.

Leave a comment