Recipe: Buttermilk Pie (makes 2 pies)

This is a very old recipe and honestly, I have no idea how far back it goes in my mother’s family.  I do know that my great-grandmother use to make it.  Very simple ingredients.  Probably because they kept those ingredients on-hand most of the time and could make a simple pie with little expense.  I’ve made it and it is very creamy and custard like.  I’ve often wondered if chocolate could be added, but I haven’t tried it…… yet.  But, I will!  So, if you’re looking for a simple old-fashioned pie – give this a try sometime.

Buttermilk Pie (2 pies)

3 cups sugar
5 Tablespoons flour
3/4 cup buttermilk
5 eggs, beaten
1 stick margarine or use butter (I prefer butter)
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Mix for 2 to 3 minutes at high speed with mixer.  Pour into 2 unbaked pie shells and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until ‘set’. 

Y’all Enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Everybody should make this. Best. Pie. Ever!

  2. Neena says:

    This looks so easy. Can’t wait to try it. I remember hearing of this pie when I was younger, but I’ve never made one. Having company this weekend and may try it out on them.

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Have you ever heard of Impossible Pie? My mom used to make them and as I recall it must be similar to this Buttermilk Pie recipe. Mom said the cool thing about Impossible Pie was that you could change the flavor simply by adding a teaspoon of flavoring extract. Sometimes it would be lemon, sometimes coconut, sometimes pineapple or rum… Thoughts?

  4. starwoodgal says:

    I’m sure that would work (replacing the vanilla with other flavors).

  5. cece says:

    Hi,I have made it with coco and it was really good.

Leave a Reply

