Recipe: Turtles Candy

Yes! Homemade Turtles Candy. Ooey-Gooey mounds of delicious, caramel goodness that soothes the savage beast. AKA – Me! I love these little morsels of chocolaty wonderfulness. This is another holiday recipe I include in my gifts to others and for myself. I swear the family would tar and feather me if I don’t make them every year for Christmas.  The good thing, they are easy to make and you can lick your fingers when you’re done. Go for it!

Homemade Turtles Candy

1 lb. (56) vanilla caramels (yes, I counted them)
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 Tablespoon water
2 cups milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup light corn syrup
2 Tablespoons water
2 cups pecan halves

Melt caramels and butter in 1 tablespoon of water in top of double boiler over boiling water until smooth. Melt chocolate chips, corn syrup and 2 tablespoons water and keep warm over hot water. Drop caramel mixture by 1/2 teaspoonful onto greased wax paper line cookie sheets. Press 3 pecan halves into caramel to form head and legs of turtle. Drop a teaspoonful of chocolate mixture onto each caramel nut piece. Chill until set and removed from waxed paper.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kacey says:

    Wow, you are making me so hungry. Those sound good. Nothing better than pecans, carmel, and chocolate!

  2. dcamurray says:

    OMG! Those sound sinful! I use a homemade contraption as a double boiler when I make my chocolate covered peanut butter balls, but I’m ALWAYS so nervous about it. I don’t know why. But I get over it for the chocolate covered peanut butter balls. I might just have to get over it for some turtles too. It’s my mom’s favorite candy.

Leave a comment