Recipe: Ham and Broccoli Quiche

Okay.  I know I whine and complain about the summer heat and humidity.  But, honestly it just zaps the living daylight out of me and I detest being hot and sweaty.  Which is one of the reasons I look for summer recipes where I can cook in my small counter-top toaster oven, on the stove-top, or on the grill.  Anything where I don’t have to turn on the big oven.  And, this is one of the recipes I can cook in my toaster oven or in my big oven.  It is easy, simple, and delicious.   For breakfast, serve it with some fruit or if you’re serving it for lunch or dinner, whip up a nice side salad and you’ve got a meal.

HAM AND BROCCOLI QUICHE

 1 Pkg. Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crusts       
4 eggs
1 ½ cups cubed cooked ham
1 cup milk
6 oz. shredded Swiss cheese
½ tsp. salt and ½ tsp. pepper
1 cup frozen broccoli florets,  thawed and drained
½ tsp. dry ground mustard 

 Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  Make pie crust as directed on package for a one crust filled pie using a 9 inch glass pie pan.  Layer, ham, cheese and broccoli in the crust lined pan.  In a medium bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and beat well.  Pour over the broccoli/ham/cheese mixture.  Bake for 35 to 45 minutes or until knife inserted in the center of pie comes out clean.  Let stand 10 minutes and serve.

Easy, simple, pretty and delicious. 

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Have you ever made this using fresh broccoli? If so, what was the difference in baking time, if any? Did you steam the broccoli before incorporating it into the quiche?

  2. I’ll be right over.

  3. starwoodgal says:

    Nope – I’ve not made it with fresh broccoli. But, I bet if you blanched it a little bit there wouldn’t be any difference because the frozen stuff isn’t cooked (just blanched) prior to freezing it. And, the broccoli isn’t cooked (just thawed) prior to putting it in the quiche. Yep, I bet a quick salty hot water bath would solve that issue.

Leave a comment