Recipe: Baked Cheese Grits

Now I ask you.  What could be more southern that Grits?  And, what could be more southern than Baked Cheese Grits!  Let me say, na’ much.   These are the perfect side dish to the traditional scrambled eggs and bacon breakfast. 

Baked Cheese Grits

2 cups boiling water
1/2 cup grits
1/2 stick margarine
1/3 lb. Velvetta Cheese
1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
2/3 teaspoon salt
1 egg, slightly beaten

Cook grits in water about 10 minutes with salt, margarine and Tabasco.  Remove from heat and add cheese.  Stir until cheese melts.  Stir in the egg.  Pour into a lightly greased casserole dish and bake for one hour at 300 degrees.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    I will pass this recipe on to my brother. We were just talking about how he likes grits. (I prefer old fashioned oats.) He had them for the first time while in the Army in GA.

  2. Ohhhh. Velveeta! I always use cheddar. But I’m going to do this one soon! As soon as I lose this 25 pounds….

  3. dcamurray says:

    I LOVE me some grits! And I made my first Grits Casserole this past Mother’s Day. But this one with the Velveeta and Tabasco sounds out of this world. I’m adding it to my “Must Try” list. I can’t wait!

Leave a comment