Recipes: Bread and Butter Pickles and Limed Ice Water Pickles

I bet you might be wondering what else to do with those cucumbers that are coming out of your ears right about now.  Before you throw them in the compost, or give them away.  Why not put some away so you can enjoy them later.  I love both recipes, but if I had to choose one over the other -hmmmmmm, well…… I can’t.  They are both good eatin’.  🙂   The first recipe was passed down from my great Aunt Nez (short for Nathalie).  She was a good old southern woman from Jackson, Mississippi.  The second recipe was given to me by my Nanaw (maternal grandmother).

Aunt Nez’s Bread and Butter Pickles

25 to 30 medium cucumber, sliced thin
8 large white onions, sliced thin
2 green peppers chopped
1/2 cup salt

Mix above ingredients and let stand for three hours.  Drain.

Combine and bring to a boil:

5 cups cider vinegar
5 cups sugar
2 Tablespoons mustard seed
2 teaspoons tumeric
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

Add cucumbers and heat, but do not boil.  Pack in sterilized jars and seal with heated 2 part (lid and ring) seals.
🙂

Nanaw’s Limed Ice Water Pickles

7 pounds cucumbers
2 quarts white vinegar
8 to 9 cups sugar
1 package pickling spice
1/2 cup salt

Scrub, wash and slice cucumbers into rounds.  Soak overnight in 2 gallons water mixed with 2 cups pickling lime.

Rinse cucumbers until water is clear and all lime is removed.  Soak in ice water for two hours.  Pour off water.  Cover with vinegar, sugar and salt.  Add spice which has been tied in a piece of cheesecloth or sheeting.  Cook in enamel pan until clear and green.  Pack in sterilized jars and seal with heated two piece lids.

Ya’ll Enjoy!  🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. noble pig says:

    I have always wanted to make these. B & B pickles are my favorites for sandwiches, thanks for posting this!

  2. Those are a trip down memory lane…

  3. Kath says:

    I am a bore! I only like dill pickles and I have passed down that to several of my kids. They love those great big ones. Once a year I buy the gallon size jar from Sam’s and they eat the entire thing in one evening. Outside of course around the campfire or we would gag from the smell of those!! haha

  4. dcamurray says:

    I LOVE Bread and Butter pickles! But I’ve always been too intimidated to try to make them on my own. However, you make it sound so simple.

  5. mainstcuisine says:

    Thanks for sharing your pickle recipes with us…both sound delicious. I’ve loved pickles since I was a child. Can’t seem to get my kids to eat them (maybe your recipes will do the trick).

Leave a Reply

