Recipe: Jello Cookies

Cookie Press - Williams Sonoma

My mother (aka Mimi) had and probably still has a cookie press.  If you’re not sure what that is – it looks a lot like a caulking gun.  Seriously!  Anyway, Mimi would make these cookies every Christmas and she would use red or green colored Jello (cherry or lime).  They always looked so pretty.  And the cookie press gun made pretty flowers, snowflakes, stars, etc.   The one in the picture can be purchased from Williams Sonoma.

Mimi’s Jello Cookies

4 cups sifted flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups butter
1 cup sugar
1 package (3 oz.)  Jello
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
additional Jello

Sift flour and baking powder together.  Cream butter; gradually add sugar and package of Jello, blending well.  Add egg and vanilla.  Beat well.  Gradually add flour mixture.  Load dough into cookie press and force through to form shapes on cookie sheet. Sprinkle with extra Jello and bake 13 to 14 minutes at 400 degrees.

Y’all enjoy! 🙂 Pssst! Sixteen days until Christmas. I think I just freaked myself out a lil’ bit.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cameron says:

    Oh my goodness! My grandmother made these every year with us also! I love eating the dough, but I hated the cookies themselves. 🙂 I still like to make a batch of the dough and a few cookies just to look at or share. (Lime jello is my favorite)…

  2. Ellie says:

    My mother made these as well at Christmas and the tradition has trickled down to my kids they now make them for their families.. the original recipe was on a jello box back in the 70s we made all flavors and gave them to everyone at christmas. What a lovely memory

Leave a Reply

