Recipe: Applesauce Cake

My dear gardening sister and dear friend Sheila (aka Gypsy Biscuit) both make homemade applesauce. Homemade! And, all I can say to that is – I don’t make homemade applesauce. (hanging head). If you’ve never had the pleasure of trying homemade applesauce – well, so sorry for you. The fresh apple taste can’t be beat. And, their applesauce makes me think of this applesauce cake. Oh, it is very good with a rich, sweetened store bought applesauce – but WOW! I can only imagine what it would taste like if I had a jar of homemade applesauce to make it with. Hmmmm! That gives me an idea. I’ll have to steal some homemade applesauce this weekend while visiting my sister in Overland Park, Kansas. (I’m heading up there for our annual Sister’s Christmas Shopping Extravaganza.) Either way, homemade or not – sweet, delicious applesauce cake. Simple ingredients. Quick. Easy. Wonderful. Nuf’ said. Try it this holiday season.

Applesauce Cake

1 1/2 cups HOT, sweetened applesauce (make sure the label reads ‘sweetened’)
1/2 cup butter (stir into hot applesauce)
1 cup sugar
2 2/3 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup raisins (I like using half golden and half regular raisins)
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 egg
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and pour into a greased and lined (with wax paper) tube pan or a greased bundt pan. Bake at 325 degrees for one hour or until done.

(PS: Drizzle with honey or sweetenen condensed milk mixed with applesauce if you want some frosting of some sort. But I love it plain.)

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂 21 days until Christmas

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I am making this tomorrow morning for some bloggy friends popping in for a visit!

  2. lydiak345 says:

    checking out your recipes. think I’ll make the strawberry bread.

    Thanx

    Lydia

    comecookwithme@wordpress.com

  3. That sounds great!

    I’m giving away a signed Pioneer Woman cookbook on my site. Click on the giveaway picture in one of the right sidebars to get to it.
    theprovidentwoman.com

  4. starwoodgal says:

    @MPM – Hope they enjoyed the cake! 🙂

  5. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Next apple season we’ll buy a bunch of apples from my farm friends and we’ll make us both a slew of applesauce!

  6. feastonthecheap says:

    My mother used to make us homemade apple sauce all the time when we were kids. AMAZING, so different than the store-bought stuff. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  7. Heather says:

    Wow! that sounds absolutely delicious, I must have just gained a few pounds from just reading this! Hope to get through some more of your recipes later!

Leave a Reply

