Recipe: Sour Cream Pound Cake

Why is it named ‘Pound’ Cake? Does it weigh a pound? Does it require a pound of ingredients to make it? Or is it because it make you gain a pound after eating it? Honestly, I have no idea why this cake is called ‘Pound’ cake. But, I do know how good it is to eat. Moist and yummy! (My husband likes it for breakfast.)

Sour Cream Pound Cake

1 box white cake mix
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup veg. oil
1 cup sour cream
4 eggs
2 teaspoons cinnamon
3 Tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Grease and flour tube cake pan or bundt pan. Mix cinnamon, brown sugar, and pecans. Set aside. Combine cake mix, sugar, oil, and sour cream. Add eggs one at a time – beating well after each one. Pour half the batter into pan and sprinkle half the cinnamon sugar on the cake mix. Add the remaining batter and sprinkle the rest of the cinnamon sugar on top. Bake for 1 hours @ 350 degrees. Cool 10 minutes in pan. Remove from pan. Pour glaze over cake.

Glaze: 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 Tbsp. milk, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. Whisk together until smooth.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I am going to make this for my returning babies this week! Yummy!

  2. Okay! I’m making it right now!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    I love that cake. Goes with every topping you can imagine. My husband loves eating it for breakfast.

  4. Do you think I could make it with a yellow mix too? I don’t see why not, and I happen to have one on hand right now;) For Christmas breakfast…

  5. starwoodgal says:

    Oh yeah! I’ve made it with yellow and it is goo-oooo-oood!

Leave a Reply

