Recipe: Nanaw’s Prune Cake

I can hardly believe that Thanksgiving is next week.  NEXT WEEK!  But, I’m not under any pressure this year as this is the in-law Thanksgiving year and I’m not hosting or cooking. I did that last year. (I am cooking Christmas Dinner at my house this year and I’ll share all the recipes in the coming weeks. However, today is about Thanksgiving Day and a wonderful dessert my grandmother use to make. Prune Cake! Yes, Prunes. In a cake. This cake is moist and delicious so don’t be gettin’ all freaky on me about the prune thing – K! It isn’t a heavily frosted, rich cake and goes with Thanksgiving menus perfectly.

Nanaw’s Prune Cake

2 cups flour
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 jar baby-food prunes
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix all ingredients well. Bake in a greased and floured tube pan for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Poke holes in the cake with an ice pick and pour glaze over cake.

Glaze

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup butter
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Place in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and cook for 2 minutes. Pour over cake.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Michael says:

    sounds good, any photos?
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  2. Wow! I am making this bad boy. As soon as my broken ovens are fixed…gah.

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    This sounds good. Maybe I will bake one up as a “test run” when my kitchen remodel is complete.

    I have a low-fat brownie recipe that uses prune puree and it is really good. Not even the kids realize the difference!

  4. Kath says:

    I make a date cake that is made similair to this. If it tastes half as good as the date cake it is delish!!!

Leave a Reply

