Recipe: Classic Swiss Steak for the Crock Pot

I don’t know about you, but my time in the kitchen has been greatly limited since taking on a new job. I’m out the door at 7:00 AM and arrive back home around 6:00 PM every day. Given my new schedule, i’ve had to find more recipes that allow me to whip up something in 30 to 40 minutes or throw something in the crock pot before leaving for work each morning. All I can say is “Thank heaven above for the person who invented the crock pot”!

This is a classic Swiss Steak recipe. Turns out tender and moist every time.

Classic Swiss Steak – Crock Pot Style
1 round steak (you can use cubed steak if you like)
2 cup flour
1/4 tbsp. butter
4 oz. tomato sauce
1 onion, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced

Cut steak into serving portions. Combine flour, salt, and black pepper in medium-size bowl. Roll cut steaks in flour mixture, coating both sides. Melt shortening or butter in a hot skillet. Brown round steak on both sides, but do not cook. Place in Crockery Pot and add tomato sauce, onion, and green pepper. Cook on low for 6 to 12 hours (high up to 6 hours).

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. GypsyBiscuit says:

    My mom used to make swiss steak when we were growing up. We had it with baked potatoes. It was always yummy!

  2. I was just going to look for a recipe for Swiss Steak…..thanks! I will make this on Sunday for Mondays dinner cause I have long days like you! I feel your pain, especially when I come home and my retired hubby wants to know what’s for dinner…..something very wrong with this picture!

Leave a Reply

