River of Love

I’m a huge country music fan.  HUGE!  It is all I listen to in my car.  I’m also a huge fan of George Strait and his new song ‘River of Love’.  Very cute song.  He sings “I got the paddle. I got the boat.  Come’on baby, I know she’ll float and we’ll go floatin’ on a river of love”.    Very cute song.

So – as an avid paddler, floating, canoe enthusiast, whatever you want to call it – I really like that song.  But, let me say it does over romanticized the ‘river of love’ theory.  Le ‘ me to es’plain.    After last week’s heavy rains, we were in great anticipation for a weekend float trip.  And, there was an article in the local paper on a section of the King’s River we had not yet canoed.  This all sounded very promising.  Rain=more water=less paddling.   We drove over north of Berryville, Arkansas to Romp Hole Public Access and loaded the canoe.  The weather was beautiful and there was plenty of water.  Plenty!

Here’s the problem with too much water on the lower end of a river.   Lower end of the river = less rate of flow = LOTS OF PADDLING.  This is what we saw ALL. DAY. LONG.  Flat water.  No current.  And a north wind coming straight at us = 2 strokes forward, 1 stroke back. 

Don’t get me wrong.  It was a lovely day.  The trees are beginning to turn and with the wind blowing like it was, colorful leaves were floating in the air and in the water.

And, there were interesting rocks and caves to discover.

Helllooooooooooooo?????    (I didn’t go in there.  Critters may live in there.)

We crossed the border into Missouri.  It was very Lewis and Clark-ish.   Did I mention this river flows north?  I know!  So weird, but it does.  Right into Table Rock Lake.

This was my view all day.  All I needed was a Viking drum to beat and scream ‘Stroke! Stroke! Stoke!’    Did I mention we ended up paddling for 5 miles.  FIVE. MILES.   I still can’t lift my arms above my head.  Tylenol – Stat.

He assured me we wouldn’t have to paddle a lot given all the rain we had last week.  Would it be wrong to whack him with the paddle?  River of Love, my foot.  Well – maybe it would have been had it been George Strait in the boat.  Ha!

Y’all have a good one. 

Starwoodgal 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kath says:

    It definitely was the river of love…one had to love the river to stay at it!!

    I like that song too.

  2. LOL. Can he not fish alone? I am envious of your workout!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    No – he needs me to row the boat. Ha! Ha!
    Ps: last time he went alone he sunk the canoe

  4. Deenie says:

    You are too funny……….and I love me some country music too!! And George Strait……….yum, don’t even get me started!!

Leave a Reply

