Recipe: Noodle Mess

My husband loves ‘noodle mess’. His mother made this for him a lot when he was a kid. He thought the recipe was something complicated and I’m so ‘whatever! It can’t be that difficult. It’s noodles’. So I asked her what ‘noodle mess’ was one day and she just laughed and said ‘Whatever I have in the pantry, plus ground beef, tomatoes, and noodles’. (seriously) And, since I’m all about the easy-to-make, quick, down and dirty cooking method – on top of which the hubster loves this stuff – I’m all over it. I make this at least twice a month. Throw a little salad and buttery, toasted bread on the side and viola – dinner!

Mem’s Noodle Mess

1 cup uncooked elbow macaroni or whatever pasta you prefer (I’ve made it with all kinds)
1 pound ground beef, or turkey, or sausage – your choice
1 can of diced tomatoes (season or not – your choice)
1 small can of tomato sauce
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic – chopped

Now – I’ve been known to add corn, red beans, diced green paper, mushrooms – whatever. If you have it in your pantry or frig and it sounds good, throw it in there. I bet replacing the tomatoes with Rotel would be really good too if you want to spice this up a bit.

Brown the meat, throw everything else in and season to taste with salt and pepper. Meanwhile, cook your pasta according to directions and drain. Add to the meat mixture and stir and that’s Mem’s Noodle Mess.

Throw a little grated cheese on top for kicks.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I want that right now for my breakfast.

  2. Kari says:

    Yummy…sounds good…I think I will make this for dinner tonight. My daughter Karson will love this!

Leave a Reply

