Vertigo!

Literal translation – dizziness. 

Started about a week ago.  Bed spins at night.  Swimmy head during the day.  Watching things that move set it off.  Bending over.  Leaning backwards.  This is heinous.  Hideous.  Irritating.  And, a little bit scary.

This morning while vacuuming I became so dizzy and anxious so my heart started pounding.  Thought I was having a heart attack.  Turned out – not.  Scared the crap out of me, but it turns out that I have a middle ear virus.  Yep!  A virus.  In my middle ear.  Vertigo – ergo – it does suck.  Much like my vacuum cleaner. 

Kind of scary entering those years where we are more acutely aware of little changes in how we feel because it could mean something else is going on.  Which I stress over and totally start thinking the worst instead of ‘oh yeah, I probably have a middle ear virus.’   (I need to really pace myself.)  The totally not fun thing, besides walking around like a drunk person banging into furniture and walls, I can’t drive for a few days.  Oh well, guess I’ll have to sit around and watch movies or something like sleep since they gave me a drug from narcolepsy-ville. ZZZZZZZZZZ! 

So – that’s what’s going on in Starwoodgal’s world this weekend.  Bed rest, steroids, vertigo drugs (aka sleeping
pills).  Hope y’all have a much better Labor Day holiday.  I’ll be here entertaining the family bumping into furniture and stumbling around.  Give the neighbors something to talk about.    🙂

On the bright side – Arkansas won today! GO HOGS!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh no, that sounds vile. You MUST watch movies, sleep, and be waited on. Thank god you can stumble to the bathroom by yourself!! (we have to be thankful for the little things!)

  2. Kath says:

    Hope you have a great weekend!!!!!

  3. Ugh. Been there. Done that. Nice side effect? Weight loss due to nausea. Feel better soon!

  4. Wendy says:

    I’ve had that before as well – and you are right – it is no fun at all. If I remember right, once you get it once – you are more “prone” to get it again. I could be wrong though.

    Hope you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

