Recipe: Pork Tenderloin Medallions

So – I had a pork tenderloin in the frig on Monday.  I didn’t want to grill it or smoke it.  And, I needed to make a quick dinner.  Time for a little food experimentation.

I sliced the tenderloin into 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick medallions.  Seasoned them with season salt, pepper, onion powder, and lightly dusted them with flour.  Drizzled about 2 to 3 tablespoons of olive oil in the skillet and browned those babies on both sides.

Once browned to golden perfection, I drizzled balsamic vinegar over them.  Probably about 2 tablespoons at the most.  Plopped in some brown sugar.  Probably about 1/2 cup at the most.  (I didn’t measure.  I do this a lot.  Scandalous!)  Then stirred it well.  Added 1 cup of water (I did measure the water.)  Stir it again.  Lower the heat and simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, I made some steamed broccoli, mac-n-cheese for the son because he loves it.  Sliced up a fresh tomato fresh from a friend’s garden and voila – dinner.  Let me tell you, the pork tenderloin was Fab-O!  The hubster and son loved it.  “What did you do to this?”, they asked.  “It is really good!”  Faining humility, “Oh, just threw some ingredients in the mix.  Glad you like it!”  (You are now my slaves.  Evil laugh!)…………….  🙂

Men like it when you can make dinner with wonderfully tender meat in less than 30 minutes.  They think it’s magic!

🙂

1 Pork Tenderloin
Seasoned Salt
Black Pepper
Onion Powder
Flour
Olive Oil
Balsamic Vinegar
Brown Sugar
Water

Brought to you by Starwoodgal – dork cook extraordinaire!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    I’ve never been able to make a really good pork tenderloin. Mine always taste so blah. I can’t wait to try your “off the cuff” recipe. I wish I were brave enough to just experiment with stuff from my head.
    I guess cooking for me is just like I am with art. I can draw something if I’m looking at it, but I can’t draw right out of my head. So I’ve never considered myself an artist. With cooking, I can cook wonders from a recipe, but when it comes to something right out of my head. . . not so much.

  2. Kath says:

    i love when you “throw” something together and its a hit!!! These sound easy and tasty!

  3. WOW. No one in my house will eat tenderloin but me. I am surrounded by idiots.

  4. starwoodgal says:

    @ MPM – I feel the same way about beef liver. I love it – they hate it.

Leave a Reply

