Recipe: Family Reunion Macaroni Salad

I have no idea why the title of this recipe is ‘Family Reunion’ Macaroni Salad.  That’s how it is typed up in my mother’s recipe bible.  I do not question ‘the cooking bible’ because it has literally saved me from being a cooking disaster.  It is my I-Ching of cooking.   And, she keeps it simple.  So simple it is almost cheating at cooking and everyone thinks ‘oh, you’re such a good cook’.    (Evil laugh!)  Just smile and say thank you while hiding the recipe.

This salad is so stinkin’ easy to make and really delicious.  Goes well with anything and a great take-along to (duh) family reunions, picnics, church potlock, teacher’s meetings, parties.  Whatever.  So grab a ‘blue box’ and make this salad.

FAMILY REUNION MACARONI SALAD 

1 pkg. (28oz.) or 2 pkg. (14 oz.)  Kraft Deluxe Macaroni & Cheese Dinner
1 cup Miracle Whip Dressing
½ cup milk
½ cup sliced green onions
4 hard-cooked eggs, peeled, chopped
½ cup finely chopped celery
1 small red pepper, finely chopped

 Cook macaroni as directed on package; drain.  Rinse under cold running water until cooled.  Drain well.

 Mix cheese sauce, dressing and milk in a large bowl until well blended.  Stir in the green onions.

 Add macaroni and remaining ingredients to sauce mixture; stir gently until well blended.  Serve immediately.  Or, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Y’all Enjoy! :)

Categories: Cooking with Starwoodgal, Salads and Soup | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Family Reunion Macaroni Salad

  1. With an endorsement like that and as EASY as it appears, I am going to have to try it at my next poolside BBQ.

  2. Jan

    Macaroni salad is my kryptonite. I can cook almost anything else well, but I cannot get the macaroni salad to come out like my MIL’s, which is the family favorite. I once asked her for the recipe, and she tried to give it to me, but unfortunately it is one of those, “just a little of this and a bit of that” recipes, and I need specific amounts! I may try yours. It sounds really similar, except I think we Connairs like sweet pickle relish in ours.

  3. GypsyBiscuit

    Oh, I usually trust your trust in the cooking bible…but, I must admit that you absolutely lost me at the mention of Miracle Whip. Bad childhood culinary memories of Miracle Whip. Sorry. Just not happening for me. But I still love ya!

  4. starwoodgal

    @GB – I understand on the Miracle Whip. I’m a southern girl dedicated to MAYO, but this recipe calls for MW. I’ve used Mayo in it too and it is still de- lish! Miracle Whip on sandwiches is just wrong. Wrong. WRONG!

    PS – miss ya!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

