Summertime Blues

I’m in full blown summertime blues mode. It is hot. Hot. Hot! Being hot is exhausting, ya know.

When the kids were little, the first week of school signified the end of summer and back to routines, which was always a welcomed event. But, now that the kids are grown, summer doesn’t end until the warm weather ends. And, that seems to make summer last longer every year. I keep swearing I’ll move to a cooler climate or become one of those people who take up work in a different place according to the seasons. It never happens and I doubt it ever will. Gah! I really don’t like summer. At. All!

This past weekend I help my daughter move (again) into their new home. This is their first home (mortgage) since they married two years ago. I know they were tired of apartment life and everything is new and exciting. We spent all day Saturday unpacking boxes and organizing as much as we could in one day. We did finish the kitchen, the clothes, the laundry room and the master bathroom. We made beds and arranged the living room. I’m still very sore and physically tired as this old girl just isn’t use to that kind of activity all in one day.

Sunday was filled with my own house cleaning, grocery shopping, and laundry duties. I’m fully convinced I need a maid. Or a wife. You don’t have to pay a wife. Which I think is just wrong on so many levels. Anyway, I’m ready for summer to be over. I’m ready for cooler days, football weather, regular routines, fall food, and pre-holiday stuff. Ready for some rain. Ready for anything positive to happen. Just sitting on ready.

Oh – and sick of re-run TV. GAH! Summertime….Gah!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more – I hate the heat and I’m just ready for fall. I always look to football season as the hope that things will cool off soon.

  2. Lisa says:

    Congrats to your daughter!! She must be so excited to have her own home! I’m totally sick of apartment living and never thought I’d live in one, actually. I’m watching the town employee housing very, very closely. 🙂 Hope you get some cooler weather down there, soon!

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    What if all the wives went on strike until conditions improved or wages increased? how long do you think the husbands could hold out? More importantly, how long could we?

  4. starwoodgal says:

    @GB – I went on strike for about two weeks. They didn’t care. Just walked around the stuff I would normally pick up for them and ate cereal, sandwiches, or went out to eat. And, during this entire broken collar bone thing – Daniel does nothing but pile dishes up in the sink. I asked him if his right arm was broken too. He said “What?” Grrrr………..

  5. Donna in VA says:

    Aawwhh! I LOVE summer! And I mourn its passing every year. But then, I’ve recently and often been called CRAZY for sitting out in 110 degree weather (loving it).
    As for the maid/wife. . . I’ve often joked that I needed a stay-at-home wife. I miss BEING a stay-at-home wife. If it only paid what it was worth. . .

Leave a Reply

