I love Meryl Streep

I really love going to the movies during the hot summer afternoons. I suppose it is the juxtaposition of the cool, dark theater vs. the blazing, hot sunshine and how comforting to escape that environment – if only for the afternoon. This summer has presented a few good movies. Some that I’ve seen more than once. (Only because Ryan Reynolds looked so great!) But, this past Sunday I took in a Meryl movie. Yes, I proclaim my love of Meryl Streep. I’ve loved her since ‘Kramer vs. Kramer’ and if you’ve never seen that movie – shame on you. I loved her in Sofie’s Choice, Bridges of Madison County, Out of Africa, The Deer Hunter, The River Wild, Music of the Heart, Death Becomes Her, Heartburn, Silkwood, and the list goes on and on. Is there anything this woman cannot do? Oh, and Mamma Mia – my father would never forgive me if I didn’t mention that movie. He and I are HUGE ABBA fans and we went to see that movie together and we sang every song. Anyway – Meryl Streep and her new movie Julie and Julia is absolutely wonderful. Honestly, you’d believe she is Julia Child. The movie was light-hearted take on a foodie bloggers journey cooking her way through Julia Child’s cook book in 365 days. As a foodie blogger, I really enjoyed this movie.

The other reasons I enjoyed this movie. Stanley Tucci and Amy Adams. I mean, come on. Stanley Tucci is a good-looking, follicley challenged man and wonderful actor.  Loved him in this movie and The Devil Wears Prada.   And Amy Adams – How sweet is Amy Adams, I ask you? Loved her in The Wedding Date, Enchanted, and Junebug just to name a few movies.

So, if you need to escape a hot summer afternoon, go to the movies and see Julie and Julia.

Happy Tuesday!

ps – Ironically, I burned the tops of my fingers last night while cooking dinner. The cooking fun never stops!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jan says:

    I love Meryl too. Is there any part she cannot do well? You would never look at Meryl Streep or hear her speak and think, “wow, she should consider playing Julia Child,” but if you put Julia Child’s clothes and hair on her, she becomes Julia. And Amy Adams really is adorable. I’m going to need to go see this movie.

  2. LOL. Maybe you were channeling the early Julia;) I need to go see this.

  3. I can’t wait to see this movie! I’m hoping to go with my friends who LOVE cooking. I think we’d have a great time!

  4. dcamurray says:

    Meryl Streep is the best actress EVER! There is nothing she can’t do. (And she’s so modest about it in interviews) I can’t wait to see her as Julia Child. I’ve seen lots of clips and she is amazing!
    Sadly, I’m the exact opposite during the hot summer months whereas I prefer to stay outside in the sun than a dark movie theater. I’ll have to wait for a rainy weekend or for it to come out on DVD. It is a definite MUST SEE though.

Leave a Reply

