A Lost Love

A folded note. A dried flower. An old invitation. Scrapbooks, photo albums, and yearbooks. Things we look through to remember our past. And, then there are the things totally forgotten. Things we once said, things we once heard, things we used to do. Lost loves in our lives.

I’m not talking about a man. I’m talking about something I use to do for hours. Whether sitting on my bed, or at the table, or anywhere the mood hit me. I use to draw.

My mother found a few drawings I had done during Junior High and High School.  I did not remember that she had them and thought they were long gone.  I vaguely recall each one.  Probably for some assignment in art class, but I’m glad she felt compelled to keep them because I’m having trouble remembering the girl who drew them.  

While they aren’t perfect or art gallery worthy, I do recall I spent hours doodling and drawing.   Now, it is a lost talent I fear. 

I once thought I’d attend the Art Institute in Chicago, major in Graphic Design and then move to New York and work for a big magazine.  Never happened. 

Through the years I continued my interest in creating things through other media.  Ceramics.  Decorating.  Photograph.  Computer graphics.   But, to sit down in front of a blank piece of paper and create something – I’ve lost that along the way.  Drawing something from a photograph, a memory, or real life use to come naturally for me, but now is a lost love.

The great thing about it – this lost love – it has been found.  And, remembered.  Possibly to be a love again.  Time will tell.  All I have for now is the signature of the girl who drew these way back when – the girl was me – so I know she’s in here somewhere.

Thanks, Mom – for saving these for me.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    Wow Jamie! That is so awesome!!! What a talent you’ve got there. I bet if you sat down for a little bit it would all come back to you. I doubt it’s as repressed as you think. . . not a talent like THAT.

    I, too, used to draw. But it was never anything as good as those. I did enjoy it though and look forward to getting back to it someday. Maybe when I win the lottery or I retire, whichever comes first.

    Go ahead. Grab a pencil. It’ll feel like old times.

  2. Those are wonderful! So great to have them;) I’m saving my children’s things for them, too.

  3. Kath says:

    You are very talented!!!! Please share your latest sketches.

    My boys are all “sketchers” and I always enjoy seeing what their masterpieces!

  4. those are great drawings! I hope you have the time and inclination to draw again someday 🙂

  5. starwoodgal says:

    We’ll see. At least I could furnish my own art at home. 🙂

  6. GypsyBiscuit says:

    I recognized your eye peeking out! It really looks like you!

  7. Dauna Bogan says:

    See, I told you she was the talented one. Talent is a gift from God, and I believe you still have it in your artistic soul. You know the old saying “use it or lose it,” well, girl, get busy!

  8. Deenie says:

    OH. MY. GOD. You are awesome!! I mean AWESOME!!!

  9. Scotott says:

    That stuff is pretty ding dang good!

Leave a Reply

