Favorite ‘Foto’ Friday

Ski Trip 1995 - Daniel Age 6
Ski Trip 1995 - Daniel Age 6

This week’s Favorite ‘Foto’ Friday was taken during the kid’s first ski trip.  We put the kids in ski school the first day while we hit the slopes.  By the time we went to pick them up, Daniel was sound asleep and the instructor said he cried throughout the day because ‘skiing was hard’.  I was sure I’d be spending the rest of our vacation in the condo with Daniel – not skiing.  The second day we took the kids with us as they had learned the basics of how to stop correctly and control their speed.   After about two hours, Daniel was doing just fine.  No more crying and on the third morning while waiting in line for the ski lift I turned around and Daniel wasn’t beside me.  Then I heard “Hey Mom!”  and I looked up and that little stinker was on the lift by himself.  I quickly caught up with him, but needless to say he has loved snow skiing ever since.  I snapped this photo on our way up the Zephyr lift at Crested Butte Ski Resort in Colorado. I do remember we had 4 1/2 feet of snow during that week and had to dig our car out every single morning. Crazy weather!

Jamie and Elaine Crawford, my daughter Emily, Rebecca Crawford, my son Daniel, Aaron Crawford, and me.  (Tim was taking the photo)
Jamie and Elaine Crawford, my daughter Emily, Rebecca Crawford, my son Daniel, Aaron Crawford, and me. (Tim was taking the photo)

We went on that vacation with our friends, the Crawfords. They grew up in the same town my husband grew up in and were a couple of years behind him in school. Funny how they ended up in the same town we lived in, went to the same church, our children were the same ages and became close friends. It was a great trip!

Y’all enjoy the heat wave! I’ll be dreaming of winter snow. 🙂

Starwoodgal

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Fun times! Love the new look here;)

  2. Kath says:

    I would be dreaming of winter in your heat down there too!

    My son ended up at Baptist Hosp. in Little Rock while we were down there last week from heat stroke. He is on medication and just couldnt hack the heat. Scary scary stuff.

    We have heat and humidity here too but it does not compare to the kind you have there. We will visit your state in early spring or winter!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    @Kath – oh gosh! I hope your son is doing okay.

Leave a Reply

