Recipe: Mimi’s Meat Loaf with Tomato Sauce

Here is a very economical, traditional meat loaf recipe. I personally LOVE meat loaf. I really LOVE sandwiches made with leftover meat loaf.   Is that goofy? Don’t knock it ’til you try it!  (And, it is EASY to make).

Mimi’s Meat Loaf with Tomato Sauce

2 lbs. ground chuck
½ large onion, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 can Rotel tomatoes
2 eggs
1 cup oatmeal, uncooked
salt, pepper, celery salt, garlic salt and season salt to taste

Mix all ingredients well and form into a loaf. Bake in a large baking dish at 350 degrees for about one hour. Pour sauce over loaf and continue to bake for about 10 minutes.

Sauce

½ cup brown sugar
¾ cup ketchup
2 Tbsp. cider vinegar
¾ tsp. ground nutmeg
2 tsp. dry mustard

Place all ingredients in a small saucepan and mix well. Bring to a simmer over medium heat. Remove from heat and pour over meat loaf.

Y’all Enjoy! :)

Categories: Beef and Game, Cooking with Starwoodgal | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Mimi’s Meat Loaf with Tomato Sauce

  1. I don’t think there’s much better in life than a meatloaf sandwich on day 2! Yummy!

  2. GypsyBiscuit

    I agree with Mental P Mama. I try to make extra meatloaf just for the purpose of sandwiches later!

  3. Yummm! I’ve always eaten my meatloaf dry with no sauce (because I’m not a huge fan of my mother’s sauce – sshhhh, don’t tell). She doesn’t like mine with no sauce, so I’ve been looking for a GOOD sauce for years. This sounds great and might just prove to be a worthy compromise for the two of us. If I didn’t have my menu planned already this weekend, I’d make it. But my mouth is already watering for your dad’s Shrimp Scampi.
    Happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

