Recipe: Ice Cream Bar Dessert

During my weekend run to the new WalMart Neighborhood Market (Oh Joy! Rapture! It is less than 1/2 mile from my house), I picked up some ice cream sandwiches. I love ice cream sandwiches! But – they don’t love me. I always think of my life-long friend, Debbie, when I buy ice cream sandwiches. Seems like that woman always has some in her freezer every single time I’ve been to her house. Open the freezer – ice cream sandwiches.

Deb and Me (1980)
Deb and Me (1980)

And, when I say ‘life-long’ friend – I do mean ‘life-long’ because Deb and I have known each other since we were babies. In fact, our parents went to high school together and our grandparents were friends their entire lives. We grew up in the same church and Debbie lived within walking distance from my grandmother’s house which was really convenient when I would visit my grandparents (in Louisiana) for the summer. This photo was taken in 1980. We were 19. 19!!! Good Golly – to be that young and know what I know now. (Scandalous!) I love Deb! She is suppose to visit next month. I can’t wait!

So – in honor of Deb’s up coming visit I wanted to post the Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe. Guaranteed to satisfy your need for something easy, cold, quick, and sinfully delicious!

Aunt Sally’s Ice Cream Bar Dessert

1 or two packages ice cream sandwiches
18 oz. can Hershey’s chocolate syrup
¾ cup creamy peanut butter
12 oz. cool whip
chopped pecans
maraschino cherries (optional)

Line a 13 x 9 inch baking dish with ice cream sandwiches. Mix peanut butter and chocolate syrup and pour a layer of mixture over ice cream sandwiches. Repeat layers. Top with Cool Whip. Drizzle with peanut butter/chocolate mixture and sprinkle with chopped nuts. Freeze until ready to serve. Cut in squares and top each with a cherry.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lord. Have. Mercy. Love the pic!

  2. starwoodgal says:

    I know! Have Mercy is right.

  3. Ooooh la la! It sounds absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

