Recipe: Dad’s Shrimp Scampi

Dad - 1990
Dad - 1990

My father-in-law’s name was C.E.   Those are not his initials – that is his name.  Simple.  Just C.E.   A tall west Texas farm boy who grew up in the dusty panhandle.   He went on to work in a local bank as a teller and eventually worked his way to the position of bank president in a small town in Arkansas.  He was quiet, soft-spoken when he spoke and fiercely protective of his family.  But to us – he was just Dad.  Everyone called him Dad.  I loved his laugh.  Not really a laugh – just a chuckle.   He made up nicknames for his grandchildren like hoch-in-bocker, toad frog, or spider-toe and they still remember that he called them that.    A special man and we miss him all the time.  We lost him in 1994 after a 3 year battle with prostate cancer. 

This week’s loss of Farrah Fawcett and every time we hear of someone taken by cancer, it brings back all those memories of losing Dad.  I wanted to remember him today by sharing one of his recipes.  Dad was a great cook.  A GREAT cook!  Whether he was in the kitchen or at the grill – a great cook.  I treasure my little recipe cards of his recipes written in his handwriting.  So – here we go. 

Dad’s Shrimp Scampi

1 lb. Shrimp – raw/peeled/de-veined
6 tablespoons butter (salted)
1 tablespoon chopped green onions
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons minced parsley
1/4 teaspoon grated lemon peel
Tabasco red pepper sauce to taste

In a wide frying pan, melt butter over medium heat.  Stir in onion, oil, garlic, lemon juice, and salt.  Cook until boiling.  Pat shrimp dry with paper towel and add to mixture in frying pan.  Cook stirring occasionally until shrimp turns pink (about 5 minutes).  Blend in parsley, lemon peel, and Tabasco sauce.  turn into serving dish.  Garnish with lemon wedges.  Serve with hot rice or linguine.  Serves 4 to 6. 

Love you Dad!

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Dauna Bogan says:

    I am so making this while I am on vacation. I have one container of shrimp left in the freezer, and now I know what to do with it!

  2. That looks wonderful and so fresh….what a wonderful man he was.

  3. Maxie Jackson says:

    My mouth is watering already. Maybe I have all of the ingredients to make it now. I’m going to check.

  4. starwoodgal says:

    @ Maxie – Hey Mama! You should make this. It is wonderful stuff.

  5. Donna in VA says:

    I think I’ll make it this weekend! And I’ll think about you and your father-in-law. I hope you have a very enjoyable holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

