Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow!

Yes. I know it is June. I am SO aware it is June. Northwest Arkansas is experiencing the hottest/earliest summer temps since 1994. I AM SO AWARE!

January 2003 - Copper Mountain, Colorado
January 2003 - Copper Mountain, Colorado
So today, I’m reliving my last vacation taken in January 2003.  Yes, the last ‘vacation’ I really had.  Look!  We’re all smiling.  Having a great time.  And, believe it or not – we’re very warm bundled up in those ski clothes and spending the day racing each other down the mountain.  We’re the first on the lift and the people most likely to catch the last ride up the mountain before they close for the day.  I really miss skiing.  I miss vacations.  I miss temperatures below 80 degrees.
Tell me about your most favorite vacation.  I’ll be in the darkest room possible looking through ski vacation photos while sipping a frozen something-ur-other until it cools off.  Y’all have a great Tuesday.
Love – Starwoodgal   😉
9 Comments Add yours

  1. caroldee says:

    Although I have plenty one of my favorite memorable ones was going to Southern Ca. to visit a friend I hadn’t seen in years. I drove– it took me 10 hours and I was exhausted. We toured all of the hot spots and some new ones. Prowled the hills of Beverly and dipped in the ocean, saw the whales and watched the celebs.
    It was heavenly. I would not have traded it for anything. I haven’t had a real vacation in about 10 years but have had several mini ones. That one is a real stand out! Hot here too.. could use some of that snow while I stand in front of my a/c. 🙂

  2. Wendy says:

    We go to Colorado all of the time (I have family there) but another vacation we really enjoyed was right in your state. We did a long weekend at Mount Nebo state park. The cabins they have are air conditioned and there is a pool on site as well. The park rangers had some good activities and we had a great weekend. We also did a long weekend at Devil’s Den state park which was very nice as well. They have a pool too, and the cabins were just as nice. Arkansas has great state parks, you should check those out if you haven’t already.
    http://kiss-that-frog.blogspot.com/

  3. starwoodgal says:

    @ Wendy: I grew up in Russellville and Mt. Nebo practically in the backyard. (see this post – https://starwoodgal.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/mini-vacations-around-arkansas/ )

    Before we moved to Arkansas in 1972, we vacationed in Arkansas. So, I’m very familiar with all the parks in Arkansas. But, Arkansas is VERY HOT during the summer. I enjoy Fall and Spring, but not Summer. Feels like being under a broiler.

  4. Donna in VA says:

    You’re so funny! Yes, with the temperatures as hot as they are there right now, I’d be sipping on something frozen and thinking of snow too. And I actually LIKE hot weather. I do have my limits though…..any temperature that has three digits it is OUT.

  5. Wendy says:

    Now that you jog my memory, I do recall that it was hot when we were in Arkansas, but I’m in Texas (Dallas area) so it’s just as hot here. At least there were trees in Arkansas, whereas we don’t have nice tall trees in my area.

    I don’t like the heat either, so I can certainly relate to how you are feeling. I hear Alaska can be beautiful this time of year. 🙂

  6. kath says:

    We are headed to Little Rock next week and I am dreading the heat already. Its stifling here today with 91 degrees and 73 dew point. Higher than New Orleans they said-dew pt that is. Wowsers.
    I can’t tolerate heat well so I sooo dread it. Please have cooler weather next week!!!!
    Great vacation was to 0oregon/Washington/Vancouver BC. So beautiful and fun.

  7. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Yes, it’s hot. But I have a pool–a real, in-ground pool, not some molded plastic or blow-up-’til-you-die kiddie pool. Girl, just come on by anytime. We’ll run off the man and start slicing limes for the margaritas!

    YOU KNOW MY NUMBER!

  8. Did it work? Are you cooler? We have had nothing but rain here in CT. I would kill for some summer. But stay tuned, cause we’ll all be complaining in a few weeks.

  9. starwoodgal says:

    It cooled down to the low 80’s after the sun went down. I watered plants, flowers, and lawn. The dogs thought they had died on gone to heaven. They played in the sprinklers for over an hour. I’m going back out here in a second to move the sprinkler and watch the fireflies twinkle while I sprinkle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

