Market Day!

After yesterday afternoon’s round of storms and tornadoes, we awoke to a beautiful Saturday morning. So, I loaded up the hubster and the dog (Gus) and headed to the Fayetteville Square Farmer’s Market. This is just one of many Saturday Farmer’s Markets in our area, but hubster wanted to go by a sporting goods store in Fayetteville anyway.

Beautiful Saturday morning on the square.
Beautiful Saturday morning on the square.

Everyone was carrying their flowers and veggies from stand-to-stand.  I was taking photographs and wearing my big straw hat while Tim and Gus meandered through the crowd.  Gus felt the urge to leave a HUGE present on the sidewalk.  I made Tim clean it up.

First group of musicians on the square.
First group of musicians on the square.

There are several musical trios singing on every corner this morning.  Look at the little girl in the stroller.  She was quite fascinated by the guy playing the harmonica.

Lots and lots of veggies and fruits to pick from!
Lots and lots of veggies and fruits to pick from!
And beautiful flowers.
And beautiful flowers.
More singers.
More singers.

 

Even a few artists in the mix.
Even a few artists in the mix.
The boys waited in the shade.
The boys waited in the shade.
Lots of folks on the square today.
Lots of folks on the square today.

I picked up some peaches, cucumbers, organic salad mix, squash, peach syrup, and these beautiful green tomatoes. 

Because tonight I’ll be making a true Southern dish.  Fried Green Tomatoes! or tomaters as some might say.    I’ll be sharing the recipe tomorrow. 

Y’all have a great Saturday!  😉

Starwoodgal

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I have some envy for that beautiful weather! And I’ll be over for some ‘maters later;)

  2. Neena says:

    I love fried green tomatoes, both the food and the movie. Have you ever tried mixing in some zuchinni with the tomoatoes? It’s very good also.

  3. Donna in VA says:

    OMG! I LOVE Fried Green Tomatoes!!! Takes me right back to Mississippi every time I eat one.

    It happens to be one of my most favorite movies too.

Leave a Reply

