Mini-Vacations – Around Arkansas

Have you been to Arkansas yet?
Have you been to Arkansas yet?

My husband has lived in Arkansas since the age of 8 or 9 years old (a transplanted west Texan). I moved to Arkansas when I was 11 years old, but my family had vacationed in Arkansas for several years prior to relocating here. During those vacation we visited several Arkansas State Parks and Attractions.

1968 - Me and my brother, Rusty - Hot Springs, Arkansas
1968 - Me and my brother, Rusty - Hot Springs, Arkansas

After 27 years of marriage, I’m determined to get my husband to go to some of these locations that in the past 40 some odd years that he’s been an Arkansan, he has never visited. Seriously, his family didn’t ‘get out there’ in their home state. For instance –

1. Did you know we have an Elephant Sanctuary?
2. Did you know we have a Big Cat Sanctuary?
3. Did you know we have a Diamond Mine and the public can dig for diamonds?
4. Lots of Beautiful State Parks.
5. Tons and Tons and Tons of History! From Dinosaurs, primitive Indians, Wild West, famous explorers, Civil War Battlefields, plantations, and many famous and infamous people. Check out the Historic 1886 Crescent Hotel in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. (My daughter was married in the formal gardens and the reception inside the hotel – photos.
6. Ridiculous number of outdoorthings to do. Camping, hiking, rafting, canoeing/kayaking, motorcylce rides through the mountains, biking, lake sports, golf courses, horseback riding, antiquing, crafting, caving (yes, caving), fishing (world record trout caught in Arkanas. Yes! Arkansas.)
7. Natural Hot Springs in America’s first National Park – Hot Springs National Park. (Horse racing in the spring).
8. Check out the State of Arkanas Calendar of Events for activities going on around the state.
9. 133 Waterfalls in Arkansas. Yes! 133.
10. Over 9,000 miles of Rivers and Streams in Arkansas.

These are just a few oppportunities to take advantage of in Arkansas. I invite you to take a look at the photography of one of the country’s premier photographers, Tim Ernst, a resident of Northwest Arkansas. This is Arkansas!

Need an online tour guide? Take a tour online with AETN’s Exploring Arkansas. This is Arkansas!

We’ll be spending our summer taking several mini-vacations around the state. I’m very fortunate that I live in my favorite part of the state, Northwest Arkansas. Some of Arkansas’ most beautiful vistas are just an hour and hike away. So, grab your tent, rent a cabin, pack your outdoor gear and visit Arkansas. You won’t regret it. I promise.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Neena says:

    You should change jobs and work for the AR Department of Parks. What a great post, and I know about many of these places. However, you did leave out 4-wheeling trails. Thank you since we don’t want them to get too crowded! Terry tells me that you and she have made connection. I’m coming down that way next week. Perhaps we can meet for lunch. Check with her. She’s my travel advisor.

  2. Fun! And wait for the mail to come in a few days….you may want to go elsewhere;)

  3. Kelly says:

    HI THERE!!!!!! Remember me? lol Its been awhile since Ive visted your site.. I lost the link for it, and just found it again! Great links to all that Arkansas has to offer! I havent done as much as I would like! Im looking forward to checking them all out! The waterfalls would be amazing! The photo opportunitys are AMAZING here in Arkansas!
    How have you been??
    Im also going to check out your recent recipes! My last experiment was PW strawberry cake. I made it twice, and it still didnt turn out right! lol.. i think im challenged! I want to try bakerellas cheese cake balls next, but still havent really tried anymore cake balls either!
    Good to find you again!
    Kelly

  4. GypsyBiscuit says:

    * Don’t forget to mention that the Buffalo National River was the first river in America to be named a National River.

    * Don’t forget to mention Little Rock Central High School, the William Jefferson Clinton Presidential Library, the Clinton House Museum, for the history buffs.

    * Don’t forget to mention Walton’s 5 & 10 in Bentonville. No trip to Arkansas is really complete without learning a little bit about the Wal-Mart empire and its origins. (Especially during shareholders’ week).

  5. Donna in VA says:

    Wow! I had no idea! My sister is always trying to get me to go visit, but I always poo poo the idea since there’s no beach anywhere nearby. I had no idea there were so many attractions there. I don’t think my sister knows either. I’ll be pointing her towards your site for things to do. (She’s very outdoorsy so she will love it!)

  6. starwoodgal says:

    I believe you just did! 🙂

  7. starwoodgal says:

    Hey Kelly! Yes – I remember you. I’m doing well, thank you for asking. Hope everything is going well for you too. Re: the Bakerella Cheesecake Balls – I KNOW! Don’t they look wonderful. Let me know how they turn out.

    Welcome back!

  8. starwoodgal says:

    My brother and his family love to ride ATV’s. They have since moved to Nevada where they have lots of sand hills to ride on, but while they were here in Arkansas they would head down to Byrd’s on the Mulberry River. Have you been there? Check it out! http://www.byrdsadventurecenter.com/

  9. starwoodgal says:

    BTW – you should visit sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

