Weekend Warrior

I don’t know about y’all, but we had a BEAUTIFUL weekend here in Northwest Arkansas.  The housework would just have to wait because  ‘Not No Way! Not No How!’  was I going to stay inside and not take care of a couple of things that needed to be done and enjoy the outdoors. 

With that being said, the hubster was a bit put out that I wouldn’t shelve everything and just go do whatever he wanted to do.  Let me set the record straight – that always means fishing.  So, I struck a deal with him.  I said, “Help me install the new microwave and then we’ll take the old, dead hot water heater (that has been in my garage since March) and the dead microwave to the dump.  After that is taken care of, I’ll be happy to go do ‘whatever’ (aka fishing).  He agreed and we took care of the appliances on Saturday morning, then to the dump and then over to the Kings River (again).  It was beautiful and he caught several fish (again). 

If the water was a bit warmer, I would have gone swimming.
If the water was a bit warmer, I would have gone swimming.

Sunday Morning – yard work!

Welcome to my backyard!
Welcome to my backyard!

I had several shrubs that needed a good pruning and weeds that needed pulling.  A patio that needed sweeping and grass that needed mowing.  And, if I get out there early enough the sun filters through the trees and it is quite comfortable (temperature wise).  

I love the shade in my yard.
I love the shade in my yard.

When we moved into this house three years ago this week, the flower beds in these photos were void of any plants and full of rocks.  Yep.  Rocks!  I guess the previous owner didn’t enjoy gardening or yard work.  So, two summers ago I shoveled all the rocks out of these beds.  I had enough to build a boat pad in the backyard for the hubster, but that was another project.  We brought in more top soil.  Filled the beds and purchased a few plants.  Mostly, we were gifted plants by family members who  A) were ripping out plants they no longer wanted or  B) they needed to divide some plants.  See all the ‘monkey grass’.   Original plants came from my grandparent’s home in Louisiana over  20 years ago.  My mother planted it in her yard and after 20 years of growth, she has enough to landscape several yards.   We dug some up and now I have enough growth to start dividing it, replanting it and sharing it with others.  (note – best to divide monkey grass in the fall).    When I shoveled all the rock out of the beds I found several Hosta plants that were planted, but the poor things couldn’t push their way through all the rocks piled on top of them.  I saved them and now I have several Hosta plants growing in my flower beds.  Hosta is the perfect shade plant and grows well in my yard as the beds around the house are mostly shaded.  I also have a few ferns gifted by family / friends and a few plants purchased from the local Wal-Marts.

See how far my yard goes back.   Dog heaven.
See how far my yard goes back. Dog heaven.

I have three dogs.  The big, white Alaskan Malamute is Gus.   Jack and Rylee are my sibling labs.  You can only imagine the poop patrol I have to do in this yard.  🙂   With three dogs, I have to landscape for dogs.  They do have areas they have destroyed the grass and that just comes with the territory of owning dogs.  I have plans to make ‘trails’ where they run so it will look like a nice path rather than destroyed grassy areas.   That’s if I can get anyone to help me. 

Most of the time, if I start working – the boys will eventually come outside and help me.  Mostly because if I’m to tired from yard work – I won’t cook for them.   I figure it is a fair trade. 

See the base of the tree.  Dog area.  I need to build a flower bed around it.
See the base of the tree. Dog area. I need to build a flower bed around it.

I guess these three are worth it.  Just look at the way they posed for the photograph.  Well -Rylee and Jack posed.  Gus just ignored me because I wouldn’t let him go inside.  What a priss! 

Hope you had some beautiful weather in your neck-of-the-woods.  I’m going to enjoy these cool mornings on my patio while I can.  The summer heat will soon be here.   Y’all have a great Monday!   I’m going to round up some Tylenol for my sore muscles and get to work. 

Later Taters!  🙂

9 Comments Add yours

  1. slamdunk says:

    Wonderful job with the landescaping–it looks like your K-9 friends have lots of fun.

  2. What a beautiful piece of property! And you have done amazing things in three short years! Well done! And happy fishing;)

  3. I have to make the some deal with my dear hubbie, but I have to go to the sprint car races………I don’t make those deals very often……… the race track is no place to relax!
    Beautiful yard, and you have darling doggies!

  4. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Awwww shoot! I was going to ask if you wanted some of MY monkey grass… Now I’ll have to unload it on some other unsuspecting sucker, er, I mean delightful friend. 🙂

  5. starwoodgal says:

    Yes! I would like some of your monkey grass because I have more area to cover than I have monkey grass to divide. Also, I’ll need some for Emily’s new house once construction is complete.

    Hey! Do you still want those orange tiger lily plants?

  6. Terry says:

    Good morning, What a beautiful yard and beautiful dogs! Could you tell me what kind of grass you have that is working so good with all the shade? We also have lots of trees and shade and we have trouble keeping the grass going. We are in Bloomer, Ar. Yes, friend of Neena who wrote comments on another post. Didn’t I see a post not long ago with you sitting in the Regions Bank box? My husband works for Regions in Fort Smith. We are bound to know some of the same people. Terry

  7. starwoodgal says:

    @Terry – Hey there! That is fescue grass. But, here’s the deal. This is a ‘cooler’ weather grass and does very well up here in the NW Ark area. I never had much luck with fescue when we lived in Fort Smith/Van Buren area as the weather was too hot for that type of grass. My mother-in-law lives in the valley in Conway where the weather is warmer and she grows Zoysia in her shaded areas. Maybe a blend of those two would work for you.

    Yes – we were in the Regions Bank box at Baum Stadium. My husband works for Regions Bank in Rogers. Tim grew up in Paris, Arkansas not far from Bloomer. Small world!

  8. Terry says:

    Well good grief, Mike should know Tim. I’ll ask him as he is in Rogers for meetings from time to time. Ask Jerry about Mike.
    My friend Neena and I found your blog from PW’s. One of these days we should meet for lunch in Rogers since that is right on Neena’s way from St. Joe. We keep that road busy with as many visits as possible.
    We do have fescue in our pastures but also lots of bermuda too. I am always working on the yard since bermuda can’t make it in the shade. You are right it’s just too dang hot here in the summer.
    Loved your King’s River post, can’t believe we have never been there. Terry

  9. starwoodgal says:

    Yes, I bet Tim and Mike have met. Tim and Jerry have known each other for over 40 years. They worked together at First America Savings and Loan way back in 1983. Tim worked for Citizens Bank in Van Buren for over 18 years. We moved to Rogers in 2004. We love it up here. I can’t get over how much cooler it is up here.

    And, Yes! Do let me know when you’ll be passing through so we can get together.

Leave a Reply

