Recipe: Evelyn’s Banana Pudding

Happy Birthday, Tim!  You old devil.
Happy Birthday, Tim! You old devil.

Today is my husband’s 52nd birthday and he has requested that I make Miss Evelyn’s Banana Pudding instead of a cake. Now, I don’t have a problem with this because everyone loves, Loves, LOVES this recipe. Here’s the deal about it. It is cold from start to finish.   No cooking of the pudding required.   My children prefer this recipe to the traditional Banana Pudding recipe.   I still prefer my Banana Pudding still warm with soft vanilla wafers, but this one will do too.   So, give it a try this summer.   I think you’ll like it.

Miss Evelyn’s Banana Pudding

1 box Instant Jello Vanilla Pudding (small – prepare according to package directions)
1 can Eagle Brand Milk
1 carton of Cool Whip
1 box Keebler Vanilla Wafers
Bananas – (no green on stems please. But not soft either.)

Line dish with vanilla wafers and layer in bananas (sliced). Prepare pudding according to directions on the box. Mix in the Eagle Brand Milk and Cool Whip. Pour the pudding mixture over the bananas and vanilla wafers. Add more bananas and wafers on top if desired. Refrigerate for an hour or so until chillled.

Y’all Enjoy! 😉

Recipe from the Kitchen of Evelyn Bookout, family friend.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum! I love banana pudding! And Happy Birthday to your handsome husband!

  2. Debra Rector says:

    Happy birthday to your hubs! Warm banana pudding was always a family favorite when my grandmother came to visit. It was her speciality in addition to made-from-scratch dutch apple pie. I believe homemade pies are a lost art. Gosh, I miss her. Thanks for the memories 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    Happy Birthday to handsome hubs. The pie is lookin’ pretty good too.

  4. caroldee says:

    YES INDEED he is a handsome devil.. that smile kinda looks like he is expecting something really good for his big day!! I love banana pudding fresh and warm best of all.. nex day it is watery and cold yeccch…. Happy Birthday to HUBBY!

  5. Nevadanne says:

    mmmmm! I may make this for myself for my own birthday in a few weeks! Sounds yummy! *Ü*

Leave a Reply

