Sisters!

Dauna and me - Circa 1961
Dauna and me – Circa 1961

I come from a family of five children.  My sister, Dauna(pronounced Donna) is the oldest, my brothers Joel and Mark, me, and my baby brother, Rusty.  Granted we are all very close to one another and can finish one another’s sentences because you see, there’s only seven years difference between the ages of the oldest and youngest.   We aren’t able to see each other as much as we’d like these days, but we’re always a phone call or e-mail away.  But, there’s just a special bond between sisters that brothers have no claim to when it comes to sibling relationships.  We’re sisters, buddies, soul mates, com padres, amigos, confidants, and often times counselors.  My sister watched out for me when I was a baby.  She held my hand throughout many stages in life and I’ve held hers from time to time.  Long story short – we’ve got each others backs. 

 

Sisters will get down in the dirt with you when no one else will!
Sisters will get down in the dirt with you when no one else will!

This past Saturday my sister called me for a little sisterly advice regarding a ‘mother of a freshman in college issue’ and we spent over an hour talking on the phone while she drove home.  She was moving her daughter home from college for the summer.  We do this.  We call each other to confide and counsel each other.  We’ve always done this, whether is was about boys or school, or life’s other major issues.  She’s always the first one I call when I have a problem that I need to talk about.  She’s always been there for me and I’m there for her.  We share history.  The same history. 

And, while we are so different in our life styles, work, and other areas; we’re still on the same page.  Still close, still sisters.  She’s my rock, my anchor to my past, my light in the storms of life.  I’m just glad I can help her when she needs it too.   And while I’d like to believe we’re elegant (like Rosemary Clooney and Verra Allen in White Christmas), I think we’re more like this version of ‘the Sisters Song’. Would you have to guess that I’m the Danny Kaye version? Nah! I didn’t think so.

Go call your sister(s)/buddies and tell them you love them. Happy Monday!

🙂 Starwoodgal

7 Comments Add yours

  1. This made me want to cry. My kingdom for a sister. Wonderful photos;) Wonderful post….

  2. Dauna Bogan says:

    It did make me cry because I am the big sister in those photos, and everything you said it true. I am blessed to have you in my life. I am glad you didn’t tell about any of our fights! I love you, Jamie!

  3. Jan says:

    I so hope my daughters will take the time someday to express how much they mean to each other, because they really are the best of friends.

    My sister is 8 years older than me, and she had a stroke when I was 13 and has been a paraplegic since. It made it really hard for us ever to develop the kind of relationship most sisters get to have. No boy talk, no shopping together, no calling her for advice on kids. We love each other, but we have never been close in the way you are talking about in your post. I think it’s absolutely lovely that you would take the time to write about this. I’ll bet your sis feels exactly the same way about you!

  4. starwoodgal says:

    What fights? 😉

  5. GypsyBiscuit says:

    My sister and I were not friends growing up. In fact we weren’t really friends as young adults either.

    Maybe the 4 year age gap was the biggest problem. By the time she started junior high, I was in high school. By the time she was in high school, I had moved away to bigger things. By the time she was starting college, I was jumping into parenthood with both feet.

    Somehow it took me 25 years to see her as a friend. It took her 21 years to gain my approval. But with the arrival of my babies it somehow all fell into place. She has helped me raise my children. She helped me hold it together when my marriage crumbled. She celebrated with me when I found love again. I helped her through much of the same. We gave each other strength and a safe place to grieve when we lost our mother way too early.

    We each have our battle scars and many stories to tell of our tumultuous early days. But now we tell them with laughter and affection. Gone are the hurt feelings and venom. Now we call each other friend.

  6. starwoodgal says:

    Dauna and I are four years apart too.

  7. Donna in VA says:

    What a sweet tribute to sisters everywhere. My little sister and I are 14 months apart in age, so I get what you’re saying. As completely different from each other as we are, we are the same.
    Oh! My sister also lives pretty much in your backyard (Bentonville) and my name IS Donna.
    Great story. And I love the old pics.

Leave a Reply

