Identity Crisis….

I love birds!  In the past couple of weeks I’ve counted over 20 different types of birds hanging out in my yard at any given time.  I have Robins, Mockingbirds, Cardinals, Swallows, Wrens, Finches, Cackles, Doves, Humming Birds, Blue Jays, Thrush, Tufted Tit Mouse, Woodpeckers, several different species of Sparrows and many others.  I’m still waiting for the Blue  Birds to show up, but they usually do not arrive until late May or early June.  I’ve had a new visitor this year.  I’ve never seen one in Arkansas although our bird books show they live here.  Here’s my male Baltimore Oriole.

There’s a female too, but he is very protective of her and she hides most of the time.  The problem – my male Oriole has a bit of an identity crisis.  He thinks he’s a Humming Bird and feeds on the sweet sugar water in my feeder.

My Humming Birds are so confused as to why this intruder is drinking their food.  I have to refill the feeder every single day because of him.  I don’t mind his being in the yard as I’ve enjoyed his pretty colors.  However, I’m sure the Humming Birds would have a different opinion.

But, somehow I don’t believe he would give their opinion a second thought.

Happy Tuesday, y’all!  😉

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Kacey says:

    Very cool. We don’t get them here. Used to seem them on the drive up to Iowa to visit my grandparents though. LOL on feeding at the humming bird feeder!

  2. I love it! I’ve seen people put orange halves out for their orioles…I wish I had them here. Maybe I’ll put some oranges out….

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Hey, I’ve seen a couple of those Orioles out my window too. I just didn’t know that’s what they were (read: too lazy to look it up). That bright orange chest is impressive, isn’t it?

    And apparently the little Blue Gray Gnatcatcher couple have decided that my side yard is the perfect place for them toraise their family. I was doing a bit of work out there today and she kept peeking out of the birdhouse, monitoring my actions. She is dutifully sitting on her nest. Occasionally he comes by and brings her something to eat. It’s really quite touching.

  4. motherhen68 says:

    Wild Birds Unlimited sells Oriole feeders so they stay off the hummingbird feeders. You actually put jelly on the outside of the feeder in these little cups and an orange on the inside. It’s pretty cool.

    We’ve never had one at our feeders, but my son told me saw one flying in the woods the other day. He was very excited and came into the house specifically for the bird guide, went out, identified it, and came back in and told me.

    Good photo.

  5. Donna in VA says:

    How pretty! I love taking pictures of birds too, but I don’t get nearly that variety. A dove here. A robin there. And tons of black birds. And of course, I can’t forget the seagulls. They come on garbage day. Enough said.

Leave a Reply

