Recipe: Better Than Sex Cake

I knew that title would get your attention! 🙂

Last month, I posted this recipe for Sock-it-to-me Cake, and Miss Jan commented that she had made ‘Better Than Sex Cake’. My mother also had this recipe written in the spiral bound notebook of desserts and I thought I’d share it with you today. Honestly, I don’t know how the cake got the name. But, I do have two versions of it. If the title offends, change it to Better Than Anything Cake and let’s move on, shall we.

Better Than Sex Cake (original version)

1 package Duncan Hines butter cake mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup Wesson Oil (veg. oil will do)
1/4 cup water
1 (4 serving size) package instant vanilla pudding
1 (8 oz.) carton sour cream
1 (6 oz.) package chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped nuts (I use pecans or walnuts)

Combine first six ingredients and mix well. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts. Pour into a greased/floured 10 inch tube or bundt pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour (or until cake tests done).

Now – here’s the version I prefer. Replace the cake with Chocolate Cake Mix, the pudding with chocolate pudding, and the chocolate chips can be chocolate or white chocolate or peanut butter. Depending on my mood – this one just might live up to the title.😉

Speaking of moods – I have a new joke for you:

Mood Ring = Menopause Jewelry

My husband, being unhappy with my mood swings, bought me a mood ring the other day so he would be
able to monitor my moods.

We’ve discovered that when I’m in a good mood, it turns green. When I’m in a bad mood, it leaves a
big frickin red mark on his forehead.

Who knew?

Y’all Enjoy!😉

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jan says:

    Yum, I make this cake all the time. It’s delicious! I recommend drizzling a little chocolate ganache over the top, but it’s yummy with or without!

  2. starwoodgal says:

    Thank you Miss Jan! I’ll be drizzlin’ some ganache on my next cake.

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    In my opinion this would have to be some kinda incredible cake to be better than er, ahem, *anything*…

    But, this does sound like it would be rich and delicious. And, I was out of town for a week and now my husband is out of town so maybe I’ve just got the itch…
    🙂 Hugs!


  4. Donna in VA says:

    I come here everyday to see what you’re cookin’ up, but I tell ya. . . lately, I’m coming for the funnies. You’re crackin’ me up with your jokes. I LIKE this one!!!

  5. thedomesticfringe says:

    I guess I’m going to have to try this cake!


Leave a Reply

