Recipe: Seven-Up Cake – A Classic

I love this recipe. It reminds me of my grandmother, and church potluck dinners and Easter. This cake always showed up around Easter. Probably because of the wonderful yellow color once it has been sliced. It is so pretty on the plate and wonderfully delicious! Did I mention it is easy to make? Five little ingredients and a simple frosting. Lovely, light, and luscious lemon. You’ll be makin’ the yum-yum face, I promise.

Seven-Up Cake

1 package lemon cake mix
1 package lemon instant pudding
3 eggs
1 can 7-up
1 cup vegetable oil

Mix well and bake 45 to 50 minutes at 350 degrees in a greased/floured tube or bundt pan. Cool and frost.

Frosting:

1 1/2 cups sugar
1 stick butter
3 Tablespoons flour
1 (medium) can crushed pineapple

Cook until thickened and clear.

Y’all Enjoy! πŸ™‚

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jownby says:

    Oh my grandmother used to make seven-up cake when I was growing up. I have never seen a recipe though. Thanks!!

  2. GypsyBiscuit says:

    I was just telling a friend about your Sock-It-To-Me Cake recipe the other day. She’d never heard of it at all! But, poor thing, she didn’t have the privilege of growing up in the South so it’s not really her fault.

    Anyway, I was trying to explain it to her and the conversation meandered around to 7-Up Cake which was a whole new concept to her too! Luckily, you have now posted both recipes so she can print them off, bake them, taste them, and compare them just in time for Easter.

    Clearly, you and I are connected on some psychic level. πŸ™‚

  3. starwoodgal says:

    @ Gypsybiscuit – Psycho or Psychic? πŸ™‚ I believe we might just be………..something.

    Happy Easter!

  4. I LOVE 7up cake. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Miss M.J. Ma'am says:

    I would love to be from the south, but being from the north prevents this………but I still love all your recipes and make them often!!

Leave a Reply

