Recipe: Praline French Toast with Orange Sauce

Need a really decadent breakfast recipe that will knock your guest’s socks off?   This is it!   This recipe is ‘Oh my goodness! Make the Yum-Yum Face! Whoa-Nelly!’ rich, and delicious, and luscious, and in no-way good for you, but it is AWESOME and looks really pretty on the plate.

So grab some pretty plates and wow your guests. This is sure to make them want to come back for more.

PRALINE FRENCH TOAST WITH ORANGE SAUCE

6 Tbsp. margarine
1 cup light brown sugar
2 Tbsp. white corn syrup
½ cup chopped pecans
2 eggs
3 egg whites
1 cup orange juice
¼ cup sugar
1/3 cup skim milk
1 tsp. grated orange rind
1 tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. ground cinnamon
1 (16 oz.) loaf French bread, cut into 12-15 (1 inch) slices
2/3 cup orange sauce

In a microwave safe dish combine the margarine, brown sugar and corn syrup and heat for 1 minute. Pour into an un-greased, 3 quart glass baking dish. Sprinkle bottom of dish with pecans.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, egg whites, orange juice, sugar, milk, orange rind, vanilla and cinnamon. Arrange the bread slices over the mixture in the baking dish and pour the egg mixture over all.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least one hour or overnight. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Serve with Orange Sauce.

ORANGE SAUCE

¼ cup margarine
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup orange juice
2 Tbsp orange liqueur or flavoring (optional)

Mix ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil over low heat.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Deb says:

    OMG! This sounds delightful…maybe I’ll make this for brunch!

  2. Oh dear. And I just got zipped up into my FAT jeans. Gah.

  3. GypsyBiscuit says:

    Basically a Praline Bread Pudding… would be great with accompanying mimosas and some rich french roast coffee. Or some Drunken Strawberries… Mmmm!

  4. starwoodgal says:

    I did serve this with mimosas for my daughter’s bridesmaid brunch two years ago. It was wonderful!

  5. Nevadanne says:

    This sounds wonderful!! I’m a visual person…do you have a picture of it? I’m new at this whole thing so I just may be not looking in the right place. Can’t wait to give this one a try! Thx! *Ü*

  6. starwoodgal says:

    @Nevadanne – sorry, no photo right now. I haven’t made this in a while since it is just my husband and I at home most of the time. Next time I make this for company, I’ll take a photo. It ‘IS’ really good!

  7. Donna in VA says:

    I’ve always wanted to make something similar to this, but just never have. I really want to try this one!!! It sounds fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

