Do you remember your wedding day?

I really don’t remember very much about it. Is that crazy?

We didn’t have a big wedding. It was an afternoon wedding with about 100 people there. I remember it had rained all week and had been cold. On my wedding day (27 years ago today) it turned off sunny and 75 degrees. It was beautiful, but I was hot and nervous.

I recall walking into the church and seeing big purple banners that the janitor had hung and freaked out because those horrible banners would be in my wedding photos. (I made them take them down and mind you – this is an hour before the wedding.) The groom and groomsmen were late for photos. After that, I really don’t recall much at all. I don’t remember walking down the aisle. I don’t remember what I said. I don’t remember much of the reception. It is all a blurrrrrrrrrrrrr. I have to look at the photos to make sure it really did happen and that I didn’t just wake up married one day.

The one thing I do remember (and this is so weird). The bridesmaids had walked down and the flower girl was walking down towards the front of the church. My Dad and I were still behind closed doors and he turns to me and said “I won’t be mad if you want to change your mind.” (He didn’t want me to get married so young. I was only 20.) Maybe that’s why I don’t remember anything. I was having a stroke at that moment!

Needless to say, everything worked out. The hubster and I have been married 27 years today. And Daddy, thanks for worrying about me and loving me. 🙂

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Have a wonderful day! And that story sounds a bit familiar….

  2. Donna in VA says:

    I remember that the priest was late and he showed up with his fly open. I didn’t quite know what to say. I just hoped he’d hurry up and put his robe on. After all that, my memory is a blur.
    Congratulations on 27 years!! That’s awesome! Have a GREAT DAY!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    Bwahahahaha! 😉

  4. Jamie says:

    Happy Anniversary! I really don’t remember my ceremony either. After it was all said and done the minister handed us a sheet of paper with the entire ceremony on it, so we could read it later and see what we said. I wonder if the people that spend thousands of dollars remember their ceremony better. Ha! Happy Spring and here’s to another 27 years!

  5. Deb says:

    I’m guessing your anniversary is today? if so, Happy anniversary.
    I remember the same speech but it was from my mom…she said…if you want to chance your mind and back out, I will take care of everything. and here we are…36 years later still going strong.
    hmmm..i didn’t say that to my daughter…

  6. Kelly says:

    Have a greattttt Day! Happy Anniversary! 27 years is a great accomplishment!

  7. I only remember because we watch the video every so often. I remember the date because my Grandmother made a likeness of our invitation in needlepoint and we have it hanging on the wall.

  8. starwoodgal says:

    @CigarSmokingMan – Tom-o! Hey there. Hope all is well with you and the fam in FL. My nephew just moved to Miami.

    No video back in 1982. I tried scanning a photo to put in my post, but my scanner is dead. Dead! Dead! Dead! I’m going to burying it in the trash later today.

  9. Happy Anniversary! 27 years together is quite an accomplishment. Especially these days when relationships are so disposable. Life ain’t bowl of cherries and enduring relationships have weathered the highs and lows. One of my favorits flicks is The Four Seasons starring Alan Alda and Carol Burnett. Carol Burnett was saying to her hubby (I paraphrase), “Remember how I described our marriage as having highs and lows? Well right now we’re in a very deep trough”. I always thought that was funny. Anyway, CONGRATS!

    Sorry I fell off the face of the planet for a while. Just a lot of stuff going on in my personal life. But all is well and I’ll try to post this weekend. Miss you! Thanks for checking on me 🙂

  10. annbb says:

    Happy anniversary! I’ve been married nearly 31 years (April 1st). It snowed a foot the weekend before, was miserable the entire week, and on April 1st it was sunny and gorgeous and 75 degrees. The next day it was around 40 and POURING!

  11. Jan says:

    Happy anniversary. We didn’t get a video back in October of 1983, either, and I feel the same as you. There are a few snippets that I remember, but most of it is just a blur. Actually, the part I recall best is that, as my dad and I began our progress up the aisle, the sun streamed in one of the chapel windows and hit my veil (which was over my face) at just the right angle to completely blind me. So one of the moments I had most looked forward to (seeing Dennis’s face when he saw me coming in my get-up) was completely thwarted, lol.

    The ceremony worked in our both our cases, though, right? I’ve been married 25 years, and here you are at 27. So I suppose it hardly matters if we remember every detail! Kind of makes me wonder though: why bother overspending on all kinds of extras for the wedding if the bride may not remember them in the end?

  12. Happy Anniversary! 27 years, wow.

    I remember my wedding very well which is strange considering I don’t usually remember anything. I think the pictures help seal the memories. We were married 4 days after 9/11.

  13. tera says:

    Sounds familiar…my first husband and I got married when I was also 20 and I remember clearly my dad telling me, “It’s not too late to change your mind.” Ahhh…if only I’d listened to dear old dad. Of course, who knows where I’d be today, then, and I’m pretty happy where I am. 🙂

  14. Happy (belated) Anniversary to you and hubby. I wish my dad would have given me permission to back out on my first marriage. It would have been the best all around. Congrats to you for knowing that was the right man. 🙂

  15. Kath says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

