Recipe: Mem’s Hot Mini Ham Sandwiches

Mem is my mother-in-law.  She will turn 80 this coming September and could probably run circles around most of us.  Feisty and tiny, this woman is a a package of TNT.  Love her to pieces and I just wanted to share one of her recipes with you today. 

These little ham sandwiches are so easy to make and wonderful for a quick lunch or for mini sandwiches for a party or whatever.  Give ’em whirl.  I know my boys love ’em.

Mem’s Hot Mini Ham Sandwiches

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
You’ll need a 8 x 11.5 glass Pyrex or casserole dish at least 2 inches deep
Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil

Ingredients:
12 count package of dinner rolls.  The kind that are still joined together (white or whole wheat – your choice).
Use an electric knife and cut the rolls length wise (still joined together) to remove the top of the rolls in a single layer.
1 1/2 pounds of Deli Ham (I use Black Forest)
8 oz. baby Swiss cheese slices
1/2 cup salted butter (1 stick)
2 Tablespoons onion flakes
1 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1 1/2 teaspoon poppy seeds
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Put the bottom half of rolls in the foil lined casserole dish.
Place slices of ham and Swiss cheese to cover the bread.
Put top of the rolls on top of the ham and cheese.
In a saucepan, heat the remaining ingredients until combined.
Pour over the top of the rolls.
Seal with a layer of foil on top.
Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

Y’all Enjoy!  😉

PS – I have a secret!  Tell you tomorrow.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my children would love these! And so would I;)

  2. Lisa says:

    These sound wonderful! Can’t wait to hear the secret!

  3. Deb says:

    I have everything in the house to make these. What am I thinking…I need rolls! I’m so lame…

  4. Cee says:

    These sound so delicious and nutritious. They remind me of the little ‘burger shots’ now being sold at Burger King.

    I just found you thru a blog search for cooking and food. I can’t wait to hear the secret too!

  5. tonyarohr says:

    I have made these before and they are WONDERFUL. I Los the recipe and found it here! Thanks!!! I will visit again for sure!

Leave a Reply

