Recipe: Chocolate Sheet Cake

Need Chocolate? Try this recipe. I’ve been making this cake for over 30 years. Easy, basic, rich, and addictive. Another excerpt from Mom’s family recipe book.  I made this last night and brought it to the office this morning for a couple of co-worker’s birthdays.  The vultures are circling my office!

Buttermilk Chocolate Sheet Cake

Mix together:
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt

In a saucepan:
melt 2 sticks butter
4 heaping Tablespoons cocoa
Add one cup boiling water and boil for 30 seconds. Remove from heat and pour over flour mixture and allow to cool.

Mix together:
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
Pour into cake mixture and mix well. Pour into a jelly roll pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Frosting:

While cake is cooking:
Melt 1 3/4 sticks butter
4 heaping tablespoons cocoa
6 Tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
Just before you take the cake out of the oven, pour a one pound box of powdered sugar into the mix and stir well. Pour over warm cake and spread evenly.

Serve with cold vanilla ice cream on the side while cake is still warm. Heaven!

Y’all Enjoy!  😉

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Starwood gal! This sheet cake is the only chocolate cake I love and I do love love love this cake. Thanks a lot for wrecking my diet. All I have to do is read the recipe and I gain 5 lbs. 🙂 Thanks for making me feel better about my decision to not buy a Mac. I was still trying to convince myself I did the right thing and your comment tipped me over the edge or reasoning. I did the right thing.

  2. starwoodgal says:

    Hey Midlife!

    Thanks for visiting the BLOG here. I love this cake. The birthday boys here in the office wiped it out in about 30 minutes. It as yummy!

  3. Deb says:

    I cannot resist chocolate cake.

Leave a Reply

