Recipe: Shrimp Creole

I don’t know about you, but for me – when I’m craving somthin’ kinda different, I could always go for something with shrimp in it. I’ve already posted the Shrimp and Eggplant Casserole  recipe, the Shrimp Gumbo recipe, and the Shrimp Etouffe recipe from Mimi’s family cookbook. I want to share her (my mother) recipe for Shrimp Creole today. I really like this dish. Very flavorful!

Shrimp Creole

1 lb. shrimp
5 Tablespoons shortening
4 Tablespoons flour
1 large onion, chopped
1 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup chopped green pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
8 oz. can of tomato sauce
1 cup water
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 Tablespoon Tabasco sauce
Salt, red pepper and black pepper to taste

Wash, peel and devein the raw shrimp. Heat shortening in a large skillet. Add flour and cook over medium heat until a rich brown color. Add the shopped onion, green pepper, celery and garlic and saute until tender. Add the tomato sauce and water and stir to mix. Season to taste and simmer for 30 minutes. Bring to a boil and add the shrimp. Simmer on low for 15 to 20 minutes. Serve over hot, cooked rice.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Deb says:

    This sounds so good, but I am not one to partake in shell fish. 😦 Allergies are a bummer!
    If someday there is a pill for such aliment, I will make this dish.

  2. Wow. Do you use butter for the shortening? I don’t think I’ve ever made a roux with Crisco….

  3. Debra says:

    You know I am a sucker for a good shrimp recipe. I LOVE shrimp, actually, any shellfish. Thanks a ton for posting another shrimp recipe, SWG!

  4. starwoodgal says:

    I use Crisco, but you can use butter if you want to.

  5. Even am agree with the kind of message you want to convey through your post

Leave a Reply

