Recipe: Triple Chocolate Mess for the Crock Pot

One of the things I’m enjoying about the crock pot e-mail my sister-in-law sent to me is that I’m learning how to cook things in my crock pot that I would have never considered cooking in A CROCK POT. And, with Super Bowl Sunday approaching – I started looking through the list and there are several things on the list that would be great for a party. I’m going to make this recipe because everyone in my family loves chocolate and this will be easy and I won’t have to turn on the oven to make it. AND, no fuss, no muss, mix, pour, set it and forget it recipe! Well – it may actually fall under a humdinger category (if I had one).

This is wonderful for “chocoholics” like me.

1 pkg. chocolate cake mix
1 pt. sour cream
1 pkg. instant chocolate pudding
1 sm. bag chocolate chips
¾ c. oil
4 eggs
1 c. water

Spray crock pot with non-stick spray. Mix all ingredients. Pour into crock pot. Cook on low for 6-9 hours. Serve in a bowl with ice cream.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh no. This may be the last you hear from me for a while.

  2. starwoodgal says:

    No! I’ll keep posting LOW CAL DIET FRIENDLY CROCK POT RECIPES TOO. I promise! 😉

  3. Lisa says:

    Sounds so yummy!!

    I’m making this easy CrockPot recipe tonight:
    http://www.crock-pot.com/Recipe.aspx?rid=289

    My husband is crazy about this recipe and acts like I’m the best cook in the world when I make it, LOL!!

  4. Kath says:

    So this is like that delicious hot fudge cake? Oh my!!!! Oh my goodness! Oh no!!!!!!!

  5. Deb says:

    I have tasted another version of this made with a can of pie filling. Really good stuff! I will add this to my Super Bowl menu!

  6. Mmmmm…looking good. I am a first-time visitor…steered here via another blog; I followed so many links I’m not sure who you know that sent me here! I will definitely be taking this to the Super Bowl Party we’re attending on the 1st…along with my big platter of veggies to balance things out!

  7. starwoodgal says:

    Hey Miss Rebecca in Colorado. Thanks for stopping by the old BLOG here. Y’all enjoy the chocolate dish. 🙂

  8. Donna in VA says:

    I’ve owned a crock pot my entire adult life and I have NEVER heard of such! OMG, it sounds sinful! I simply MUST try it.

  9. Amy says:

    Has anyone ever prepared the ingredients the night before, refrigerated it and cooked it the next day?

  10. starwoodgal says:

    Not sure about that Miss Amy? It might get dry in the refrigerator.

  11. I’m back with a review…
    I have made this three times this year, most recently last week when we got together with cousins. Good, good stuff. Crazily enough, I ate leftovers for breakfast on January 1st. So much for resolutions!

    My printout of the recipe that I keep in my binder has your web address on it, so I am able to come back and stalk you. 😉

    Just a recipe note: 5 hours on low works for me.

  12. starwoodgal says:

    Hey Rebecca – good to see you here again. I know! That triple chocolate mess is so addictive and how easy it I ask you. Glad you enjoyed it.

  13. MAndy Eames says:

    I’m going to make this to take to a crock pot cook off at church tomorrow…I need some advice. It needs to be ready to eat at noon, and I leave the house at 8:30am. Will it be ok to start it at home, unplug, take to church 5 minutes away) and plug back in? Or should I allow time to completely cook at home and then plug it back in to reheat closer to eating time?

  14. MAndy Eames says:

    in addition, you think it will be enough to feed a crowd or should I try and double it?

  15. starwoodgal says:

    Mandy – sorry I didn’t see your question yesterday. For future reference – I’d double it for a large crowd.

  16. MAndy Eames says:

    What I ended up doing was I got up at 5:00am, mixed everything together (After getting it all ready before I went to bed), then plugged it in around 5:20am went back to bed…it was the LAST thing I put in the car before leaving at 8:30am, got to church in about five minutes and plugged it back in. Unfortunately it kept getting unplugged to move from one place to another but I had taped a note to the top DO NOT REMOVE LID…anyway it turned out WONDERFUL and we ate around 12:15pm. Didn’t win a prize, but there was NONE left and everyone seemed to enjoy it :o)

  17. starwoodgal says:

    @Mandy – Oh good! I’m so glad they enjoyed it. Take care.

Leave a Reply

