Recipe: Crock Pot Minestrone Soup

Another Winner!  I made this last Friday and let it simmer all day in the new fangled slow cooker/crock pot.  It was wonderful.  And, we have a bonus.  Low Fat!  T

The ingredients do not call for any spices, but I did add a little paprika and black pepper.  Also, I used regular chicken broth and did not add salt to the recipe.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂  It’s a keeper.

Minestrone Soup – Cooked in Crock Pot/Slow Cooker

1 cup diced ham
1 can chick peas – drained
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 clove garlic – minced
1/2 cup diced carrots
1/2 cup diced celery
1 small pkg. frozen chopped spinach – thawed
1 14 oz. can petite  diced tomatoes – do not drain juice
1 medium potato – diced
2 Tablespoons parlsey
1 quart chicken broth
1/2 cup to a cup of small elbow macaroni
grated Parmesan cheese

Combine all the ingredients in a crock pot except for cheese and macaroni.  I added a teaspoon of paprika and black pepper.  Cook on low for 9 hours.

Add macaroni and cook for an addition 30 minutes.  Serve with cheese sprinkled on top and garlic bread.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    Sounds perfect for a cold dreary day!

  2. starwoodgal says:

    I thought about you when I posted this. I was hoping it would work for your diet. Hope you like it. We did.

  3. Debra Rector says:

    It also looks low cal…

    I need to lose weight this year. I dislike the word diet – it sounds like a punishment. But I plan to make healthier food choices and take smaller portions. This recipe reminds me of a vegetable soup I used to make. It was a Weight Watchers recipe. This looks easy…I think I can do this!

Leave a Reply

