What a Crock!

My needs are simple when it comes to gifts.  Give me something I can REALLY use!  Well – I’ve had the same ridiculously small, round shaped, crock pot for 27 years.  Yes, TWENTY SEVEN YEARS!  Why so long, you ask? Well – I’m cheap, and it still works, and I don’t think about buying something new if something I have works.  I was brought up this way.  I can’t help it. Move on. 

This year, my lovely daughter asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I couldn’t decide.  First of all, they are on a very limited budget while she is attending graduate school and I really didn’t want them to spend any money at all.  But since she insisted, I had to come up with something.  Well – one day, while walking through the Wal-Marts, (I live in Wal-Mart country) stacked there on an end-cap were lovely oval shaped crock pots.  Now I know the new word is “slow cooker”, but honey – they’re crock pots.  I couldn’t help myself.  I started thinking about how many things I could cook in an oval crock pot.  A much larger, oval crock pot.  And the best part – it was only $17.   Bingo!  So that’s what she gave me for Christmas and I’m going to start using it this week because yesterday I opened my e-mail and my sweet sister-in-law sent me an e-mail and guess what.  It was full of links for dishes you can cook in a crock pot!  I’m totally serious!  Not just a few recipes.  Nooooooooo!  I’m talking about over 100 recipes for things to cook in the crock pot.  The beef section alone would take over 3 months to cook every dish if you cooked in the crock pot slow cooker every single day. 

So, I’m going to start a new recipe index page called “What a Crock!” and post all of these recipes for you.  I can’t guarantee I’ve cooked every single recipe, but I assure you this is a treasure trove of time saving dishes that anyone with a slow cooker will appreciate.  But today I’m going to post a recipe not on this list because if was the first recipe I cooked in my new crock.  I confiscated this recipe from Donna over at Yellow Jeep Blonde.  White Chili!  My hubster said it was the best chili he has ever had – seriously.  Give it a whirl.  And, check out the crock pot, (dang) I mean SLOW COOKER recipes I’ll be posting from now until next Christmas.  No really – it will probably take me that long. 

Donna Yellow Jeep’s White Chili

3 lbs boneless chicken breast (note:  I used 3 lbs. ground turkey)
1 large onion, diced
4 cans White Northern Beans
1 can Refried Beans
1 can Cream of Chicken soup
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup
1 can Sliced Mushrooms, drained
2 cans Diced Green Chiles
3 Tbl Chili Powder
2 Tbl Cumin
1 Tbl Garlic Powder
1 – 2 tsp Cayenne Pepper
2 tsp Salt
1 tsp Pepper
Chicken Stock, to desired thickness

Cut up your chicken into bite-size pieces and brown in a little bit of olive oil, or chop up your leftover turkey. Pour all the ingredients into a 6-Quart Slow Cooker. It’s all pretty thick at this point, so I add some Progresso Chicken Stock to get it to a chili consistency. But don’t use too much because the slow cooker will thin it out some by itself. Cook on high for 4 hours or on low for 7 – 8 hours.

**Note: I didn’t add the refried beans because I don’t like them, but this chili was very, very, Very, VERY good!

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂   – thanks Donna

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Deb says:

    My original crock pot was 32 years old. I still have it. It’s blue and country looking, but I too, saw the end cap at WalMart and had to have this new baby. Mine wasn’t $17 but the other version for $22! Woo! I love the fact that it is oval, has 3 temperatures and has the little rubber band to keep the top on.
    Do you know somebody that wants an old crock pot? Is there a crock pot rescue?

  2. Love it! I love all things crock.

  3. Kath says:

    I love my crockpots! I upgraded a few years ago but still have the one we recieved for a wedding gift. I liked my new one so much that I bought two of them. When canning the fruits of my garden I can make 4 batches of salsa using the 3 crockpots. They come in handy at every family gathering too.

    To keep rolls warm with no fuss- I put canning rings in the bottom of the crockpot. Line it with foil. Put on lowest setting. Adjust lid so its not on fully. Your bread will stay toasty warm. But you do need to angle the lid or condensation will arise.

  4. Donna in VA says:

    Aawwhh! Thanks so much for the shoutout! I’m really glad ya’ll like it. It is a FAVORITE in my house for sure.

  5. starwoodgal says:

    No! Thank you! Hubster loves this chili. 🙂

Leave a Reply

