Recipe: Beef Stroganoff

When we were kids, my sister and I shared clothes, a bedroom, the bathroom mirror, the curling iron, mutual disdain for all the things our three brothers did on a daily basis. But nowadays we share a advice, memories, love, and occasionally a really good recipe (that our Mom didn’t give us – which is rare.) My sister is a really good cook, just like my mother. My sister is WAY more domestic than me. She learned to sew, took home economics in high school and pretty much has every wonderful trait my sweet mother possesses. Me? Na’somuch! But, I manage to get by (with their help). So today I thought I’d share a recipe from Dauna, my only sister. Here’s her Beef Stroganoff recipe. She also practices the family motto of delicious but easy to make (thank goodness).

Beef Stroganoff

Chuck roast or round steak cut in 1/2 ” wide strips
1/2 cup minced onion
1 clove garlic (minced)
1/4 cup butter
salt to taste
2 Tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 Tablespoons minced parsley
1 cup sour cream
8 oz. uncooked egg noodles
1 pound fresh mushrooms (or 8 oz. canned, drained)

Saute onion and garlic in butter. Add meat and brown; add flour, salt, pepper and mushrooms. Cook 5 minutes. Add soup and bring to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes. Stir in sour cream. Heath through. Cook and drain noodles and serve meat mixture over them or mix together. Sprinkle with fresh parsley. Serves 4 to 6.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

(I’m off to get my tires rotated, go grocery shopping, clean the house, do laundry, walk the dog, etc. etc. etc. Women’s work is never done!) Have a great weekend!

One Comment Add yours

  1. One of my top five comfort foods. Yum!

Leave a Reply

