Recipe: Dirty Rice – truly Southern!

Here’s a little ditty from Mimi’s recipe book. Good Old Southern Louisiana Dirty Rice! Now, don’t let the ingredients keep you from making this. I know weird chicken parts freak some people out, but trust me – this is a good side dish. Now, if you don’t want to use the chicken, just use extra ground beef – I’ll understand. Just don’t tell Mimi I said so. šŸ™‚

Dirty Rice

1 (12 oz.) package brown rice
2 green peppers, chopped
2 onions, chopped
4 stalks celery, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 lb. chicken gizzards
1/4 lb. ground beef
4 Tablespoons bacon drippings
Tabasco sauce, salt, pepper
cayenne and Worcestershire sauce to taste

Boil rice according to directions on the package (difficult huh?). Chop vegetables very fine. Saute vegetables in bacon drippings (use butter or olive oil if you want to) for 30 minutes. Add ground beef and chopped gizzards and cook until done. Add seasonings and mix with rice.

Y’all Enjoy! šŸ™‚

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    It MUST be a Southern thang. . . cuz I love me some “weird chicken parts”. I totally gross out many friends and neighbors up here in VA when I eat fried chicken livers or chop up my “wierd chicken parts” and put in my cornbread dressing and such. I LOVE IT!! And I love Dirty Rice too.

  2. starwoodgal says:

    I LOVE, LOVE, LUV! fried chicken livers. Hubster won’t eat them, so I have to make a trip to KFC.

  3. That is yummy. And can almost be tweaked to fit my wonderful eating plan this month;)

  4. deeswyt says:

    to me, this sounds delicious, however my hubby would never taste it. and weird parts of animals are what is missing in our diets as our ancestors ate all of the animal..there are theories that is why our generation has a wide spread of depression. there is that missing component in our menus…
    or…it can all be hog wash!

Leave a Reply

