Recipe: Chicken Salad

Here’s one dish I do allow myself to have on a diet.  Mimi’s chicken salad!  Now, I’m not really following “a diet”, but I’m eating smaller portions and making healthier choices, drinking more water and getting some exercise.  Move more, eat less!  I’m not expecting miracles, but slow steady progress.  Here’s to feeling better and looking better!  Make some of Mimi’s chicken salad and have it on lettuce.  It is wonderful!

Mimi’s Chicken Salad

4 cups, cooked chicken, chopped (I recommend cooking your own chicken)
2 hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
1 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup chopped onion
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon celery salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
3/4 cup mayonnaise
paprika

Combine first 9 ingredients and toss gently to mix well.  Cover and chill.  Garnish with paprika, parsley sprigs and cherry tomatoes to serve.

Note:  To make ham salad, use ham in place of chicken and sweet pickle relish in place of onion and lemon juice.  Reduce amount of salt.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Wine Blog says:

    Sounds like a delicious and healthy meal. Good luck on your quest for better health and looks!

  2. Looks delish…I use that new Hellman’s made with Canola Oil….you cannot tell the difference.

  3. Debra Rector says:

    Chicken salad can vary greatly and my taste is quite discriminating. Since moving to the south, I’ve acquired a taste for finely chopped pecans in my chicken salad. My daughter makes great chicken salad, but this sounds even better. I think I’ll surprise her by trying your recipe. Good luck on the portion control 🙂

Leave a Reply

