Recipe: Sweet and Sour Sauce

Burned out on turkey and dressing?  Tired of mashed potatoes and green bean casserole?  I have the answer.  Sweet and Sour Chicken or Pork.  Stir fry your favorite veggies and meat and serve with this sauce over hot rice.  Just the right twang of sweet and sour.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1 cup sugar
1 cup white vinegar
6 tablespoons ketchup
4 tablespoons soy sauce
4 tablespoons water
1 cup pineapple juice
4 tablespoons corn starch

Mix first five ingredients and cook over medium heat in a saucepan until mixture simmers.  Mix a little pineapple juice with the corn starch and then gradually stir in remaining juice.  Add the cornstarch mixture to the saucepan and cook until thickened.

I use this sauce with stir fried chicken or pork with veggies over steamed rice.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Debra Rector says:

    What’s cookin’ for New Year’s Eve, SWG? We’re having dinner at a favorite local restaurant. New Years Day we will stay in so I am looking for fast ‘n easy finger food recipes. Any suggestions? I have a fabulous warm dip recipe that a co-worker gave to me. It was a big hit in my house on Christmas Eve. Hmmm…perhaps this will be my first recipe post.

  2. starwoodgal says:

    I’m probably going to cook the Sweet and Sour dish for New Year’s Eve. We stay home. New’s Years Day I’m cooking the Pork Chops and Potatoes Recipe, Black-eyed Peas (of course), Green Beans, and cornbread.

    Look through my appetizers list. I’ve also made the Island Sweet and Sour Meatballs without rice and served it as an appetizer. I’ll post some others later today.

  3. What do you want me to bring?

  4. starwoodgal says:

    The wine, naturally!

    Wouldn’t that be fun though. 🙂

  5. Donna in VA says:

    Wow! That sounds easy! I’ve never made stir-fry. It’s just something that’s always intimidated me. But you make it sound so easy that I might just be able to handle it.

Leave a Reply

