Recipe: Shrimp Gumbo

This is my Nanaw’s recipe for Shrimp  Gumbo.  It is one of the things I usually make during the holidays to offset the traditional holiday food burnout syndrome. 

Shrimp Gumbo

3 lbs. shrimp, washed, peeled and deveined
1 lb. okra, cut in slices
2 Tablespoons shortening
1 Tablespoon white vinegar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup shortening
1 large onion, chopped
5 cups water
1 can Rotel tomatoes
Salt, pepper and Tabasco sauce to taste

Heat the 2 Tablespoons of shortening and vinegar in skillet.  Add cut up okra and cook over medium heat, stirring until not ropey.  Heat the 1/3 cup shortening in a dutch oven; add flour and cook over medium heat stirring constantly until dark brown.  Add chopped onion, okra, water and tomatoes. 
Season to taste.  Cook over low heat for 30 minutes.  Add shrimp and cook for 15 minutes longer.   Serve in bowls with a scoop of cooked rice.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    Hhmmmm! That’s sounds like the perfect diversion from the traditional holiday foods. Yumm!

  2. Donna in VA says:

    Now I just need to find some okra!

  3. starwoodgal says:

    Donna:

    Sometimes I just use the frozen gumbo veggies from Wal-Mart. Everything is already cut-up and in the bag! 🙂

  4. Stephanie says:

    This looks good! I’ll have to try this even if I haven’t reached the “traditional holiday food burnout syndrome.” 🙂

    Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. Debra says:

    First, I LOVE any food dish that contains shrimp. However, I cannot (yes, I have tried) acquire a fondness for okra. Okra is a southern tradition. I’ve had it boiled, fried, and thrown into dishes as an additive. The texture of okra (this is gross, I know) is snotty. I saw your comment above where you said to Donna that you use frozen gumbo veggies. I may give this a whirl during the holidays. I am off work for two weeks and I always enjoy cooking when I have time to do it right. Especially a dish that contains shrimp – YUM!

  6. starwoodgal says:

    Miss Deb:

    Try my Shrimp Etouffe recipe. No okra! 🙂

Leave a Reply

