Recipe: Strawberry Bread

If you can get your hands on some juicy, red strawberries – this is a wonderful bread to give as a gift. It is a little unexpected because of the strawberries, but oh so good!

Strawberry Bread

3 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 cups sugar
4 eggs, well beaten
1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
1 cup pecans, chopped
2 cups strawberries, sliced

Sift dry ingredients together into mixing bowl. Make a deep well in the center. Mix remaining ingredients and pour into the well in center of the dry ingredients. Stir well to moisten all. Pour into two (9 x 5 x 3) loaf pans which have been greased and floured. Bake at 350 degrees for one hour. Cool in pans on wire rack for 5 to 10 minutes and remove from pans.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna in VA says:

    I was just looking through some cookbooks last night (I know. . . shocker, right?) and I saw a recipe for Strawberry Bread. I paused on it because it intrigued me for the very reason you mentioned. It’s unexpected this time of year. Now it has your endorsement as well, so I’m going to have my eye out for some strawberries. It sounds fabulous.

  2. What a nice change!

  3. Gene Judge says:

    Oh, good grief ! I follwed the recipe exactly. Got 2 very low, heavy loaves. What did I do wrong? They just never seemed to rise at all. My baking soda is fresh, too. I thought that might be the problem. Should I buy a new box anyway? What do you think? thanks.

  4. starwoodgal says:

    @ Gene:

    This is a very dense, moist bread. I does rise a little, but and should have the same texture as Banana Nut Bread. Perhaps it was the baking soda. I was thinking of making this sometime this week if I can find some strawberries. I’ll take a picture of my finished bread so you can see what mine looks like.

Leave a Reply

