Recipe: Cocoons

Here’s another recipe from my Nanaw. She made these little powdery cookies for various occasions, but always for Christmas. They are buttery, sweet, and a great addition for a tray of Christmas cookies to give as gifts.

Cocoons

1 cup butter
6 Tablespoons powdered sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups ground pecans
3 cups flour
Powdered sugar

Cream butter, sugar and flour. Add vanilla and nuts. Form into cocoon shape and bake at 300 degrees until light brown and crisp. (This is how Nanaw rolled and sometimes no directions were given in her notes. You’ll just have to watch them). Roll cookies in powdered sugar and place on wire rack to cool.

Y’all Enjoy! 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Debra says:

    My mouth is watering! These sound wonderfully tasty and easy to make! I must try. BTW, I tried three of your fabulous recipes for Thanksgiving. Sadly I did not try making gravy – I chickened out. Next time I will try your recipe. Anyway, thanks! My family loved the corn pudding, green bean casserole and sweet potato casserole. Yum!

  2. starwoodgal says:

    Awww! I’m so glad they liked everything.

    Congrats on those gran-babies.

  3. bradruggles says:

    MMmmmm, those look good! I’m going to have to give that recipe a try since I love dinking around in the kitchen and am always looking for new stuff to try.

  4. Carole says:

    Tis the time of year to dig out all the family favorite recipes. My daughter wants to make potato chip cookies this weekend. They’re a crunchy chocolate chip cookie. The recipe is up at my blog. We can do an exchange!

  5. starwoodgal says:

    Potato Chip Cookies? Never heard of it, but I’d be willing to try them. 🙂

    I have several recipes posted under “Cooking with Starwoodgal”. I’ll probably set up a “cookie swap” linky love post before much longer. Check back soon.

Leave a Reply

