Recipe: Fruit Cake

Since today is the first official day of December 2008, I’d like to start the Christmas Food Recipe Post with good ole Traditional Fruit Cake.  Now, now….everyone makes fun of fruit cake.  The joke about how the same one has been shipped to everyone in the world, blah, blah, blah and how fruit cake is horrible, blah, blah, blah.  I’m here to put an end to the dreaded Fruit Cake rumors.  This is my Nanaw’s Fruit cake recipe.  My Dad LOVES this fruit cake.  I’ve made it and people say “This is really good! What kind of cake is it?” And, when I say Fruit Cake they get this weird (I just ate Fruit Cake?) look on their faces and then they realize how silly they were being about believing all those stories about Aunt Biddy’s horrible, brick like Fruit Cake.  Well – it is true about store bought Fruit Cake, but not Nanaw’s Fruit Cake.  If you’re willing, give it a try. Ya just might like it!

Fruit Cake

3  8 oz packages of dates (pitted)
1 lb. candied pineapple
1 lb. Whole candied cherries (use the red ones.  I hate the green ones – they are just gross looking. I think this is the real reason people think fruit cake is weird.  Who eats green cherries? Cherries are RED, Man!)
2 Cups sifted all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
1 cup sugar
2 lbs. pecan halves

Grease and line with brown baking paper, two 9 x 5 x 3 ” loaf pans.  Grease paper after placing in pan.  Set oven at 275 degrees.  Cut up dates and pineapple in coarse pieces (that means chunks).  Place in large bowl.  Add cherries.  Placed sifted flour, baking powder and salt in sifter and sift over the fruit in bowl.  Mix fruits and flour well with fingers so that all pieces are well coated.  Beat eggs in mixer until frothy; gradually add sugar to eggs while beating.  Add egg and sugar mixture to fruit and mix well.  Add pecan halves and mix well with hands.  Pack into greased and lined pans.  Bake four 1 1/2 hours.  Remove from oven and place on racks for 5 minutes to cool.  Turn cakes out on racks and remove paper.  Cool cakes and turn right side up.  Store wrapped loosely in foil in an airtight container in a cool place.

Y’all Enjoy!  🙂

Mimi (my Mom) - in my kitchen mixing up the dressing for Thanksgiving.  Shes a saint!
Mimi (my Mom) - in my kitchen mixing up the dressing for Thanksgiving. She's a saint!
I hope I look half this good when I’m 72!  Thought y’all might like to meet Mimi.  Here she is!
4 Comments Add yours

  1. I am sorry. Fruit Cake is the stuff of childhood nightmares;) But your mother is absolutely gorgeous!

  2. Kath says:

    Never had fruit cake before.

    Your mother is beautiful!

  3. Donna in VA says:

    OMG! I hope I look that good when I’m 52 (which is barreling down on me)! She is gorgeous!

    My mom makes fruit cake every year and if she misses a year, there’s a problem. All us children have a fit! We LOVE her fruit cake! I’ve never made it so I don’t even know how the two recipes compare.

  4. Candy Glaser says:

    im trying this my mom wants a fruit cake she is 93 .i will let you know how it turns out sounds good .I always thought fruit cakes were brown but this one, i dont think will be. Candy

Leave a Reply

